We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Break”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Room was too small. Food wasn't the best but was good enough. Couldn't fault the overall service, staff were very friendly, kind and would help you when needed.

Unsure whether we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    148
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
72
315
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

After reading previous reviews was slightly nervous about our stay but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was of a reasonable size and comfort. We did not have a sea view but that wasn't a problem as we were hardly in there anyway. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was of good quality and filled us up for the day. We did try the hotel's cream tea and I must say that this was delicious and excellent value for money. The bar was always open when we needed it and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Meadfoot Beach which has a cafe, sunbeds/deckchairs for hire. The town centre and harbour area are about a 10 minute walk from hotel although this is mainly downhill on the way but uphill on the way back. We walked in every evening but got a taxi back to hotel (cost between £4-£5). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Balmoral which was helped by glorious weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DF0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

John T

Booked double room with sea view well in advance .NB-Sea view is just imaginary. I could not believe the room size that we had been allocated - room 6. The size of this room is probably not adequate to be described as a single room, we asked to be allocated a bigger room to no avail. We were told an alternative room was to be ready within 2 days, thanks to Alex. After 2 days we were moved to room 18,roomier,no view and could not tell the difference between day and night, no working shower extractor. Day 2 at the hotel while having dinner we asked for glasses of water and the waitress brought dripping wine glasses and she told us these doubled up as water glasses. That was our hospitality experience at Balmoral. I'm not sure how they get a 3 star rating!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 505JST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Balmoral for a few days and had a great time.

The hotel was easy to find and only a few minutes walk to the town centre. Big hills to walk though which was the only slight downside to the location although that didn't put us off personally.

The staff were friendly and the drawing room/ entrance were lovely. These rooms seemed to have the historic charm that we chose the hotel for.

The slight downside is that was where it stopped. The bedrooms were a little dated/old fashioned rather than 'had character' and a few of the cups/spoons in the room were a little dirty. It was overall still great and still gets a 4 out of 5 from me.. Just want to give my honest review. The shower was good :)

The garden was exquisite with a gorgeous view of the sea. Takes away any bad points for sure!

The breakfast was great too. Lovely, tasty and warm... Just a shame that on a personal level there was no beans or mushrooms which to me makes a cooked brekkie!! I'd take those items rather than black pudding any day!

Overall a great hotel. If you're more about the getting out and doing something like we are rather than sitting in you're room all day then its a great choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having worked at 3 and 4 star hotels in the past, I wasn't sure what to expect here, particularly having read a few of the previous scathing reviews. Suffice to say I really was pleasantly surprised, as were my partner's family who are more accustomed to 5 star establishments!

The room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. Not too dated, it had everything we needed. Both dinner and breakfast were very good, the selection adequate, and the service pleasant and professional. Aside from very limited wifi access for some of our party, everything was very satisfactory.

My only slight disappointment was upon enquiring about the spa facilities available for Balmoral residents at another nearby hotel, we were given practically no information, aside from to pop over and ask them if we were interested. I did think that if you were going to advertise this sort of facility then it would be prudent to have the information on hand, or at the very least contact the venue to find out on our behalf.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very friendly, welcoming hotel. Service was excellent and the food is just amazing. Alex and his team are first class. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. We loved having cream teas and coffee on the terrace. We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Vale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel is set in a very good location near the sea. It has character of the old seaside town hotel, complete with tartan style carpet! A most lovely garden with tropical plants including a eucalyptus tree. I found the manager on call, Alex, very helpful when I needed change of mattress. He went out of his way to facilitate this and I was very impressed by his attention to my request. Well done Alex.

We booked last minute and the room was not the most spacious or airy that this Hotel offers, but I was grateful that we had somewhere to stay at this busy time of the year.

Room Tip: Last minute booking meant that the room did not have a view, was on the small side and not spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vamufakose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing