We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Balmoral
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
365
178
42
18
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
178
42
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeadfoot beachcream tea on arrivalspecial weekendweekend breaksunday lunchcourse dinnerpremium roomsea viewlovely gardenwaiting staffhalf boardwell stocked barother guestslittle gembar pricesbus stopexcellent value for money
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Room was too small. Food wasn't the best but was good enough. Couldn't fault the overall service, staff were very friendly, kind and would help you when needed.

Unsure whether we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After reading previous reviews was slightly nervous about our stay but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was of a reasonable size and comfort. We did not have a sea view but that wasn't a problem as we were hardly in there anyway. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was of good quality and filled us up for the day. We did try the hotel's cream tea and I must say that this was delicious and excellent value for money. The bar was always open when we needed it and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Meadfoot Beach which has a cafe, sunbeds/deckchairs for hire. The town centre and harbour area are about a 10 minute walk from hotel although this is mainly downhill on the way but uphill on the way back. We walked in every evening but got a taxi back to hotel (cost between £4-£5). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Balmoral which was helped by glorious weather.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DF0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

John T

Booked double room with sea view well in advance .NB-Sea view is just imaginary. I could not believe the room size that we had been allocated - room 6. The size of this room is probably not adequate to be described as a single room, we asked to be allocated a bigger room to no avail. We were told an alternative room was to be ready within 2 days, thanks to Alex. After 2 days we were moved to room 18,roomier,no view and could not tell the difference between day and night, no working shower extractor. Day 2 at the hotel while having dinner we asked for glasses of water and the waitress brought dripping wine glasses and she told us these doubled up as water glasses. That was our hospitality experience at Balmoral. I'm not sure how they get a 3 star rating!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 505JST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Balmoral for a few days and had a great time.

The hotel was easy to find and only a few minutes walk to the town centre. Big hills to walk though which was the only slight downside to the location although that didn't put us off personally.

The staff were friendly and the drawing room/ entrance were lovely. These rooms seemed to have the historic charm that we chose the hotel for.

The slight downside is that was where it stopped. The bedrooms were a little dated/old fashioned rather than 'had character' and a few of the cups/spoons in the room were a little dirty. It was overall still great and still gets a 4 out of 5 from me.. Just want to give my honest review. The shower was good :)

The garden was exquisite with a gorgeous view of the sea. Takes away any bad points for sure!

The breakfast was great too. Lovely, tasty and warm... Just a shame that on a personal level there was no beans or mushrooms which to me makes a cooked brekkie!! I'd take those items rather than black pudding any day!

Overall a great hotel. If you're more about the getting out and doing something like we are rather than sitting in you're room all day then its a great choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having worked at 3 and 4 star hotels in the past, I wasn't sure what to expect here, particularly having read a few of the previous scathing reviews. Suffice to say I really was pleasantly surprised, as were my partner's family who are more accustomed to 5 star establishments!

The room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. Not too dated, it had everything we needed. Both dinner and breakfast were very good, the selection adequate, and the service pleasant and professional. Aside from very limited wifi access for some of our party, everything was very satisfactory.

My only slight disappointment was upon enquiring about the spa facilities available for Balmoral residents at another nearby hotel, we were given practically no information, aside from to pop over and ask them if we were interested. I did think that if you were going to advertise this sort of facility then it would be prudent to have the information on hand, or at the very least contact the venue to find out on our behalf.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews