We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break away.”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“short break away.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

we spotted the special mid week offer and decided to book.The hotel is clean,quiet and friendly.the bedroom was nice and warm and v clean.the 5 course evening meals were excellent value with good choices inc pork,chicken,beef and fish meals.the waiter and waitresses were really excellent,they were polite and efficient,really a credit to the hotel.The receptionist was also friendly and gave us a nice welcome.if you want to relax and have a nice chat in the evenings this is the place for you.the buses stop just outside the hotel and are cheap to travel on.the drinks were cheap and the bar and lounge were comfortable and relaxing.nothing was too much trouble and i am sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCOLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    160
    36
    15
    19
See reviews for
78
330
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rossendale
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for a week recently, the room we had was a bit small though pleasant and clean , maybe the bathroom needed a bit updating, but was and we didn't spend much time in the room, the main lounge was large and bight with lots of comfie sofas and chairs and a good stocked bar at reasonable prices. The food was excellent , the breakfast had a good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts etc with a good selection of alternatives to the full English cooked breakfast. the five course evening meal was also first class with plenty of choice ,All the staff were friendly and efficient. The Hotel is situated near to the quieter Meadfoot beach,there is a café and toilets here ,not much else,but lovely and peaceful,. It is a short ten min walk from the harbour and main town.(a bit of a hill if you are not used to it),

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marietRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were a party of 8 people, the special weekend break was excellent value. The rooms were all very clean,tidy and warm without any heating being on. The food was first class, compliments to the kitchen staff, and the front of house staff were all very friendly and happy.The two nights entertainment were top class, and they really made our stay one to remember.We are already sorting out our next return visit.Next time in the spring/summer months with the light evenings so we can pack more in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from The Hotel Balmoral after a 2 night stay. We were very lucky as excellent bay window room with views of the garden and sea view through the trees so cannot comment on the other rooms.

No problem with staff as always obliging and cheerful. Yes, it was necessary to ring the bell at Reception desk but within seconds always someone there to assist. Lovely furnished restaurant which overlooks the well maintained garden. Good choice of menu and food served at a high standard. Best steak I have eaten for a very long time - £15.00 for a 5 course meal. Excellent value and more importantly quality food. Just surprised that this is not advertised at the Reception desk, as in conversation with fellow guests, some were not aware of this. Also if we had been aware of the cream tea, we would have phoned in advance to order this on our arrival.

It would be nice if staff in public areas wore name badges.

To sum this Hotel up - good location, relaxing gardens, nice public areas (lounge bar and drawing room) excellent food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Room was too small. Food wasn't the best but was good enough. Couldn't fault the overall service, staff were very friendly, kind and would help you when needed.

Unsure whether we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After reading previous reviews was slightly nervous about our stay but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was of a reasonable size and comfort. We did not have a sea view but that wasn't a problem as we were hardly in there anyway. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was of good quality and filled us up for the day. We did try the hotel's cream tea and I must say that this was delicious and excellent value for money. The bar was always open when we needed it and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Meadfoot Beach which has a cafe, sunbeds/deckchairs for hire. The town centre and harbour area are about a 10 minute walk from hotel although this is mainly downhill on the way but uphill on the way back. We walked in every evening but got a taxi back to hotel (cost between £4-£5). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Balmoral which was helped by glorious weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DF0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

John T

Booked double room with sea view well in advance .NB-Sea view is just imaginary. I could not believe the room size that we had been allocated - room 6. The size of this room is probably not adequate to be described as a single room, we asked to be allocated a bigger room to no avail. We were told an alternative room was to be ready within 2 days, thanks to Alex. After 2 days we were moved to room 18,roomier,no view and could not tell the difference between day and night, no working shower extractor. Day 2 at the hotel while having dinner we asked for glasses of water and the waitress brought dripping wine glasses and she told us these doubled up as water glasses. That was our hospitality experience at Balmoral. I'm not sure how they get a 3 star rating!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 505JST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing