We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend in Torquay”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were a party of 10 from a skittles team from Cheltenham. We had been to the Balmoral before and could not fault it which was why we decided to come again.. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly and the food was first class and the accomodation was very comfortable. We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening entertainment. We would highly recommend the Balmoral to anyone, including our friends and families

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is such a lovely place to relax, the rooms are comfortable clean and cosy, the food is excellent and there is a really good choice too. This delightful little hotel offers oh so much more than many of its larger counterparts, the personal touches like Cream teas on arrival and Sunday lunch before you go home (all included in the price), make this a little gem of a place.

Its also close to a lovely yet secluded little beach which is excellent for that bracing early morning walk or the quiet moonlit one, if you just want to read or do nothing in particular, then the light and airy lounge is perfect and for finer weather there is always the beautiful garden area.

The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Unlike many hotels in this area they provide entertainment on both the Friday and Saturday nights and Eddie (Saturday) is definitely entertaining. So there is no need to trawl the town for somewhere to go.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away in the company of some very nice and friendly people.

Room Tip: you could go for a larger sea view... but in truth all rooms are lovely. For those with mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helend123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We visited the hotel Balmoral during the 2nd week in October and had a very enjoyable stay. The room N0 15 was absolutely excellent and we were very comfortable. The food was first class and the Chef was very understand and helpful in catering for my wife who suffers from food allergies.
The hotel is in a wonderful quiet location but only a comfortable walk from the quay and main town area. If you have problems with the hills the No 64 bus stops right outside the hotel and little more than a 5 minutes ride into the town. The hotel has a very quiet and pleasant garden which is well sheltered with views toward Meadfoot Beech and is perfect for just sitting and relaxing. Meadfoot Beach is only a couple of minutes walk away (down the hill so about 4 minutes return)
We found this to be a hotel giving personal service and providing comfortable accommodation in a super quiet conservation area of Torbay. We would definitely wish to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My first visit to This hotel and indeed to Torquay . I had booked here after reading the reviews and looking at the gallery on the website. I was a little disappointed in the decor of my room as it was quite dowdy in colour. The management did offer to give me a different room as soon as one became available but having spent a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed in a warm and quiet room I decided the decor didn't matter after all. I did think that having to climb on to a chair to open the window was a bit much but being agile I didn't mind really . There is nothing the hotel could be expected do to rectify this without changing the window completely but if you are six foot plus tall, you won't have a problem. Shower was nice with good pressure. In the process of cleaning the room the staff even tidied my personal belongings on the dressing table. Wasn't expecting this level of service and made sure I thanked the young lady personally. Food was very good and plenty of it with healthy choices. Table service excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful.
There is a warm ,relaxed atmosphere about the whole place and therefore would highly recommend the Balmoral.
Oh, and one more thing is.... If you do not have your own transport or prefer to leave the car behind there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which I found very handy.
Thank you to Alex and all the staff for making my stay a relaxing and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Excellent stay again. As always very friendly and helpful staff, excellent accommodation. The breakfast and evening meals were of a very high standard, with excellent variety and selections. Ideally situated for the local Torquay attractions an other venues in South devon.

Very good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have used in the past have been fine - those with sea views are suggested as being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our third time, as usual the welcome from Alex was warm and welcoming. Steve manned the bar for apperatifs in a warm &friendly way,remembering us from previous visits. Food was excellent, Lauren and the other serving staff gave excellent service with a smile, and the chef provided a good selection of food, well cooked and presented.
A special request, was met without fuss and enabled us to join in a Worldwide awareness day for sufferers of Multiple System Atrophy.
Thank you to all involved David &Judy

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a Garden/Sea View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Have been coming here for 7 years now and the special breaks are a definite must for best value. The staff are friendly and very helpful, we always feel at home and the food is superb - compliments to the chef every time.
Garden/Sea view rooms are best but get booked up really quickly (not surprising).
The hotel is situated in a beautiful tranquil spot with stunning views and good walks all around. Not too far from Torquay town also. We always meet lovely friendly people also and come away refreshed wanting to book again straight away. Extra star definitely deserved!
Carol Guerrier

Room Tip: Garden /sea view rooms are a must for best value.Comfy with large windows and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing