We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Balmoral”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Balmoral”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a great stay once again, friendly staff and wonderful food ......highly recommended excellent value. It's a quiet well run family hotel that is welcoming and offers great accommodation at a very reasonable price. The food is very good with options on the menu to cater for all tastes.

Room Tip: The room we had was a super king with a garden and sea view and was spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouldings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    162
    36
    15
    20
See reviews for
78
333
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We went last week, and had a great stay. The bedroom was clean and the lady that cleaned was very helpful and on the first night I had a bad nights sleep due to the bed being to hard, after talking to the reception they changed the mattress and slept really well after that, so a big thank you to them. The meals are superb and again the staff in the restaurant are really friendly and do a great job. In no doubt we will go bad again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here in March for a long weekend and was pleasantly surprised! Great value for a weekend break - two evening meals, two breakfasts, cream tea and a Sunday roast for £95. The food was excellent - good quality and great service. Staff were happy to help and very friendly. Hotel in general and rooms were very clean and it was in a lovely location. Nice views from garden. Unfortunately our bedroom (12) had no view whatsoever so do make sure you ask for a sea view.
Free wi-fi as well.
My only gripe would be the ridiculously small TV's in the bedrooms. Relaxing in your room and watching TV really wasn't an option as they were so small. Also the pillows were very flat and all rooms had a spring shut door so all slammed constantly which made sleep quality not great.
Great hotel though - would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hevfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is our second visit - I would say that we are very fussy about cleanliness, comfort, warmth, good food, good service and value for money. All of these are abundant at the Balmoral. Hence a second visit - and already planning our third.
Hearty thanks to Alex, Linda and all the staff (Chef deserves a mention although never seen).
Looking forward to 2015.
Ron & Jane xxx

Room Tip: Easy - book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonL666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Booked the special weekend package and the value was brilliant. Hotel was clean and tidy. We had a basic room but it was adequate for our needs. Entertainers, staff and even all the guests very friendly and even sang happy birthday to my husband with a candle in his cake after dinner. Food was faultless and happily so was the weather (hooray). Thank you Hotel Balmoral.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trad70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband, myself and four others stayed 14th - 16th. March but wish we had arranged to stay longer. From the cream tea on arrival to the Sunday lunch before we left we could not fault anything. Rooms were all clean and had a good views.Communial rooms were welcoming and comfortable. Food was excellent I even tried and enjoyed somethings I had not before. Hotel was very handy for local places to visit. Staff were brilliant. We will definitely return but for longer next time. Lesley Ross, Bristol

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a 4 nights here & thoroughly enjoyed each one! The staff are EXCELLENT & quickly attended to any queries & the food is very good. We had an upgraded room with a super kingsize bed & were most comfortable. We walked into Torquay along the coastal path & back along the road route, both easy for 2 golden oldies! There are chairs & tables in the immaculate garden which I imagine are great in the summer. I understand that people come back time & time again, however the group staying at the same time were inclined to act as if they owned the place, always sitting in the same places in the lounge & being quite vocal! However this kind of thing is not the fault of the hotel staff. It was just the break we needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NenNen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
823 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing