We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in August. Location is good right next to Meadfoot Beach. The staff were friendly but service standards weren't great. Various breakfast options, including cooked, were fine but of really basic quality. The room itself was cosy (as described) but in need of some updating and DIY. Bed was creaky and we could hear other guests through the walls and in the halls. The window was filthy and the sea view was actually of the (perfectly nice) garden with only a glimpse of the sea through the trees. Communal lounge was nice enough but decor in other areas was showing its age. The communal toilets downstairs are desperately in need of a total refurb. Not a bad place but hard to recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    146
    33
    15
    19
See reviews for
71
313
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

In general the hotel is in real need of a total refurb,
The rooms on the internet page for the hotel Look really good but in reality they are very poor,the bathrooms are stuck in the 70's,beds and furniture are also very worn and in need of renewal.
Breakfast,,,! The three or four staff that try their best to run and organise breakfast are really pushed to do this,trying to seat us at a table seemed a real effort and our order for a cooked breakfast just seemed to confuse them.
Service was very poor and disorganised.
On the plus side our room was clean and the hotel is in a good location.

Room Tip: Do not spend the extra on the up graded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed Mon - Fri at end of July. Emailed hotel prior to visit to ask for room near stairs, reception etc (as unable to walk far) and to check facilities to store insulin in their fridge on a rival. Both arranged for us prior to arrived. Car parked easily on site. Small beach with cafe just down the road - good prices. Nice to sit quietly and enjoy the sea. They also had surf board etc hire there if you wanted it. Only 1 bus an hour to/from hotel but was convenient enough at £1 each. Last bust about 5 pm from Torquay harbour to hotel so not ideal if you want to stay out later but other residents stated taxi was about £4 each way. Could be walked if your fairly fit - not a long walk but up and down hills. Boat trips to Brixham from To r quay Harbour £2 return and runs regularly. Hotel food was good, great selection, although as one other person that week has commented, potatoes were under- cooked one night! Room was spotlessly clean. Internet access very patchy. Had laptop with us and used it to watch films at night. Staff were great - couldn't do enough for us. Lovely to sit in the garden to relax when we felt like it. Already discussing going there again next year. Loved it there. Summed up - we had a lovely quiet stay there - just what we needed after I'd had a long period of illness.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_6118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend here in this quiet and friendly hotel. Good food and helpful service. Clean room but one with a view of the garden would be preferable. Great location close to beach, cliffs and just walkable into Torquay. Hard to beat for value when the weather is good.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BobyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We've just got back from a 5 night stay, we had room 5 which was great,A big room with lots of space, the only down side was the TV which kept freezing, and the wifi leaves a lot to be desired. Having said that, the hotel staff are very helpfull and very friendly. The food overall is good ( did have under cooked potatoes one night ) but the rest was OK.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Balmoral for a week from 18-25 July.
On arrival we met alex on desk who I have to say was exceptionally helpful telling us about the hotel and surrounding areas, he even brought a map up to our room.
I am on a gluten free diet which I mentioned when booking, though I did think possibly a few more options could be available, such as a gluten free sausage at breakfast they are not hard to come by, possibly a better option for dessert, than ice cream or fruit, I did manage to find a lovely bakery in Brixham which I brought in for my dessert at teatime, asked waiter for some clotted cream and jam which he was happy to get for me.
Saying that though, we had a lovely stay and would definitely go back, we had a large garden room at the back which was very comfortable and spacious.
We loved torquay, round the harbour is lovely, we went on several boat trips to Brixham and Dartmouth which were great value for money, loved Dartmouth especially..
We went to the zoo which was good day out, weather was gorgeous, really is the English riviera down in Torquay when the sun is shining..

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were staying near to the Balmoral and were tempted in by the thought of a cream tea served in the grounds. After about a 15 minute wait, it arrived. The scones looked suspiciously like cheap shop-bought ones and being warm I guess they had also seen the inside of a microwave. They weren't very big either. Given that the hotel does evening meals I wouldn't have thought it too onerous for them to offer proper, home made scones baked on the premises. at £4.25 per head there are far better places locally to enjoy a cream tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing