We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you pay for what you get - the friendly service is included”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We went with friends. the hotel was very clean, although very outdated. but then most of the other residents were of the era and as they obviously keep returning it must suit them well and make them feel at home!
our room was very basic an quite small but had a sea view as promised and was clean and well serviced for basic 2** as advertised. Next time i'll take my own towels as theirs were very thin and tending towards hand towel size anyway.
Food was hot, served fast and cooked nicely. Don't expect gourmet cuisine here - but you are not paying gourmet prices so what do you expect? Service was excellent. Mr Robbie is a feature of the Balmoral and once you get over the Fawlty Towers similarity you can appreciate his attentions and just enjoy!! How many times he changed his shirt during service can easily become a betting game if you get in the right frame of mind!
We slept well, we ate till we were stuffed, we drank well [no extorsionate bar prices and they were very happy to serve our own champagne at a very reasonable corkage charge]
and the whole weekend cost us less than one night's stay elsewhere. Just up from the town, near enough for the taxi fare to be less than a fiver, not so near that we were disturbed - Top shout all round!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaconbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in September. Nice clean hotel, very pleasant room, food very good, staff friendly and helpful - particular mention must go to Mark for his excellent service, first class. Was also lucky that there was a nice friendly bunch of guests to liven up the evenings - a number of whom were revisiting the hotel.
I am very fussy about my food but there was something nice for me on the menu every night.
Would definitely go back and also recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay. This really was excellent value for money.
If I had to come up with one slight negative - I was not overly impressed with the sea view which attracted a small extra charge. The sea was visible, through a group of large trees - that said it was still a pleasant view.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed for a week in August, booked a room with a seaview which was clean and largeenough for our stay. Several guests were on return visits to the hotel which is always a good sign. The meals were excellent and were served to us quickly but full marks to Mark who was friendly and polite while doing so. Alex was also helpful and nothing was too much trouble, but we were dissapointed with the unfriendliness of the owner , obviously the regulars are more important to him. A good morning now and again would have been nice !!!!! Overall a very good stay and a nice position in torquay to be in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the balmoral for 2 nights. Overall we had an enjoyable experience. The Dinning room, Guest Lounge and Bar very nice. But the bedroom was a little shabby round the edges. Needs up dating and a little more care round the edges when cleaning. We had to share the room with a numer of insects, Nice size bed ! But the Duvet was to small for the bed. But what can you expect for the money. The food overall was very good. staff excellent, fantastic location. When you go down into the town use the bus service from outside of the hotel. A lot cheaper than paying Torquays parking charges, PLUS you can have a few drinks if you wish. Overall verdict! For what you are paying very good value for money compared to most hotels. Feel good hotel with very friendly feel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintyWimborneDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

we stayed in this hotel after accidently discovering it on the internet-with half board available the price is unbeatable-our room was large though a little tired and our waitress on our last night was very slow to clear our mains-we waited half an hour -and i did complain to the head waiter at the time.Otherwise a very nice hotel and tremendous value for money-we will go back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fras22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Delicious food, very good value for money, friendly helpful management and staff, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50isthenew40_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at the balmoral for a three day break, Upon arrival we were shown to a room which was so small we just could not stay in it. We then shown room 15, in order to open the door I to put my shoulder to it ,the door dragged over the carpet . We left our luggage and went into Torquay.Upon getting back, putting my shoulder to the door we found a room with grubby sheets, vents in the bathroom pained over so they could not be opened, a pink bathroom suite (when did you last see one of these). The bedding was the worst it made my flesh creep, gray not white. I cannot understand the good reviews this place has had, obviously people with lesser standards than myself

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing