We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4 day break at a great hotel.”
Review of The Devon Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devon Court
Ranked #56 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent 4 day break at a great hotel.”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A really peaceful and clean hotel. Rooms are up to top standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. Position of the hotel is good, it is hilly so not good for old people who struggle to walk. Pete and Carol and staff are terrific hosts and nothing is too much trouble they do a mean breakfast. Plenty of parking. The pool is a bonus and I used it three out of the four days. Certainly stay there again>

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britabroad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
111
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and i stayed at Devon court for two nights at the end of july.It was a brilliant break since the Hotel run by husband and wife pete and carol were really friendly and accomodating with a perfect location just 5mins walk from the front of torquay.The hotel was really clean and our room had everything from a large walk in shower to relaxing beds and TV.For the cost it was outsatnding value since we also used the outdoor pool we thought we were on the costas! we also enjoyed Carols full english breakfast on both mornings of our stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the 6th year running that we have stopped at the Devon Court Hotel and this stay was as good as our first stay, the hotel has just recently been refurbished ( 2 rooms left to do i think ) throughout , also the swimming pool as had a face lift .
The breakfast remains as good as ever with a wide choice to choose from, we also had our evening meal in the hotel and it was up to its normal standard.
Pete and Carol the proprietors of the hotel are as ever very welcoming and make you feel very much at home, nothing is too much trouble to them also Kirsty who helps in the hotel is very polite and helpful. While we was there we booked again for next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartanclipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUDDERSFIELD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2010

once again we have stayed at this very welcoming hotel, the owners are undoubtedly the friendliest couple that you would wish to meet. the hotel is very clean and tidy, the rooms are fresh and clean [they are cleaned every day]. the breakfast and evening meals are cooked to a very high standard and plenty of it.the meals are served by a very polite and helpful young lady.
nothing is too much trouble for all the staff at this delight full hotel,
its just like coming home.
and for this reason and many more we have booked for next year,and hopefully many more to come.
highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RANGERHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Just come back home after spending 10 days at the Devon Court Hotel, this being our 6th stay.
Pete and Carol are the proprietors and as useuall they went out of there way to make us feel welcome, noting was too much trouble.
Carol does all the cooking with a choice of a good english breakfast, or continental, or smoked mackerel/ kippers, we also had evening meal which was 3 course and the portions were very generouse and the food was lovely (evening meal is optional).
Pete looks after the bar on a night, and cleaning the swiming pool and other jobs by the day, also he is on hand to serve any bar meals on a lunch time.
Kirsty is the waitress who as worked at the hotel for some years now and is very helpful and good at her job.
Devon Court Hotel is situated on a quite road , an ideal location for a stroll into town or or down to the seafront, all in all we have had a very nice relaxing holiday and have booked up again for 2011.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tartanclipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

this is our eighth year with these hoteliers, and they have become great friends also, A1 for service, friendlyness, cleanliness, and price, they are always there to oblige, nothing is to much trouble, it proves my comments, as many return year after year,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Easy to find. Located within 10 minute walk of several places to eat out & the seafront. Pool looked nice, although we didn't use it. As the hotel's on a hill, one way out is fairly steep, but the other way is a much gentler incline.

We had been booked into a larger room, which was just as well as we had to fit a travel cot in the room. The room was clean & tidy, although the decor & fittings are quite dated as it is mainly pine furniture & the wardrobe was squashed in one corner next to the dressing table, so you could only open one door. Complimentary water was provided on the first day, which was a nice touch especially on a hot day.

We didn't get the really friendly & helpful welcome that other guests have commented on: Despite telling one of the owners we had quite a lot of stuff to bring in, due to having a young baby, we were not offered any help with our bags, so I had to stay in the room with the baby, while my husband made 4 trips up & down stairs, struggling through 2 heavy fire doors to get everything in.
On arrival, there was very little soap in the liquid hand soap dispenser at the wash basin & only 2 sachets of shampoo & shower gel. When we asked for more, the soap dispenser was refilled, but we were told that the sachets were only complimentary on the first day. We had brought our own shampoos/conditioner, but expected there to be at least some soap for the shower/bath.
There was only a tiny bin in the bathroom for us to dispose of the nappies, & on 2 days of our 4 day stay, the cleaner didn't empty it, so I had to take the rubbish outside myself (again, despite telling the owner, she apologised, but did not offer to help).

Breakfast slot is fairly tight 8.30 - 9.15. We were provided with a highchair, but there were no restraining straps in it. Breakfast was ok, although the eggs were overcooked, not remotely runny (even the poached ones) & the mushrooms were quite rubbery. The waitress was very pleasant & helpful.

Overall, we were disappointed with the reality compared to the reviews we'd read.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picassofishface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 87 in Torquay
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crofton House Hotel
Crofton House Hotel
#3 of 34 in Torquay
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#63 of 149 in Torquay
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindum Lodge
Lindum Lodge
#92 of 149 in Torquay
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Court

Property: The Devon Court
Address: 24 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devon Court Hotel Built in the middle of the XIX century, since the first day of its existence The Devon Court was a luxurious seaside villa. Having survived wars and crisis The Villa has never lost its charm and status and always remained faithful to the original architecture ensuring its position as one of the best seaside resorts in Devon. Ideally located on the quiet road with a short through to both the city center and the beach The Devon Court will be your ideal place of stay. Long hiking walks, beach and sea fun, fine dining, yachting, - choose anything that fulfills your soul and the Devon Court hotel would become your base and home to relax in. The hotel was carefully renovated and refurbished in 2017 to increase its already high standards even more so that every guest of the property would feel him or herself at a luxurious home away from home. We have thoroughly chosen only the best materials and furniture to be used during the renovation as we believe that our guests deserve only the best and so that their holiday should be. Relax in style with our wide range of deluxe rooms and spacious suites or why not opt for a secluded private apartment. Featuring freshly done bathrooms, luxurious, bespoke beds and fine linen, and a range of complimentary extras, we guarantee your stay will be extravagant, yet comfortable. Allow yourself and indulge from the daily worries and have a holiday in a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Devon Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Court Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing