We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Helpfull Staff But needs Updating in some rooms”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #76 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very friendly helpful staff. Food was average but good choices. Breakfast was excellent. Oldish hotel & some rooms have been updated. Room we were in was a family room (double bed & sigle bed). Clean room but bathroom has carpet! which really needs updating to lino or tiles & Shower / Bath was a bit fiddly to use. Only got the hang of it on last day even though Hotel Manager came & gave us a demonstration on how to use it!

Car park very small.

Tip: If you need towels changing put towels in bath or they won't change them!

Overall nice hotel (View from terrace amazing) Make sure you ask for a recently refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed one night that more than enough the rooms were to hot the hotel needs a big uplift although the staff was friendly. The bar was shut early Saturday night we got no sleep all night noisy and disturbing would not reccomend this to anyone the breakfast was the worst we have ever had we would not return glad we only had one night.
Pat from Nuneaton

Room Tip: Do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat504201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

There is allways a warm welcome by Brain & Joan they are so friendly and obliging, = the meals are excellent thats a big thanks to dave the chef, = My room was excellent as allways, = And the entertainment was also excellent,= Having stayed here many times before and never had any problems and i will be back for many holidays to come. = A big thank you to all from Gerry.

Room Tip: Just pay a little extra and have a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GRBR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at The Richmond Hotel. There were 47 in our party and the overall opinion was that it was fantastic value for money. The refurbished 'sea view' rooms were almost luxurious and the smaller rooms with mis-matched furniture etc. were clean and comfortable. Management (Brian & joan) and Staff were friendly and very helpful at all times-nothing was too much trouble. We had 2 coeliacs in our group and the chef (Dave) took a lot of trouble to make sure they were well catered for. All the meals were very good, lots of choice and plenty of it. The pool was clean as was the hotel in general. We would go back again.

Room Tip: the best ones. the back of the hotel is a bit dull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loftof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After reading other reviews before I went, it was with trepidation. This was unfounded as although the Hotel is "shabby chic" the room I occupied and the ensuite were clean and tidy. Room service every day although towels not changed. The meals were of a good standard, hot and with a choice. NONE of our party were disappointed and it numbered 45. Hope they eventually update all the rooms to the standard of the ones overlooking the sea. Our view was not good, but then we did not intend to spend the time in there. Brian and the other staff worked hard to keep things going and guests happy.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roseylee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

On entrance to our smelly, germy flea pit, We found 6 packets of crisps, a half eaten hairy biscuit, a marker pen lid, a syringe lid, some chips, an old soap and a peg under the kids bed, enough dust to seriously harm an asthmatic! The beds and furniture were so old they were hanging together, our view was a filthy fire escape an old shed and cooking oil storage in a dirty yard!!!, assuming that,s what they would use for cooking the breakfast in too !!!!!
The pool needed condeming if the rooms are anything to go on,
The staff are very friendly, but thats about it!!! This hotel is part of the Grand Hotels uk group.....not grand at all..infact they should be ashamed of them selves!!!

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank babycham1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Ghastly long journey down with Sunrise Holidays?- surely some mistake! Hotel room smelt constantly of bad drains and furnishings and fittings were tired. Looked out over the noisey car park of the adjacent Old Peoples Home. Bathroom basic and not very clean. Bed uncomfortable. Good plentiful breakfasts in the morning. Evening meal really very basic and poorly cooked. However, hotel management and staff faultless, friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diddy_dave_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £27 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing