We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Richmond
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kistor(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bute Court(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
90
118
81
53
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
118
81
53
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand uksea viewchristmas decorationspleasant stayexcellent value for moneycoach partytea and coffeesea fronttown centrecannot faultbed and breakfastwarm welcomelovely roomyogurtbrianbalconybay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Resturant not open for evening dining, lift smelt damp, not hot water for bath it was tepid, breakfast cold even tho they brought it within minutes of ordering must of been plated up waiting to go out

Room Tip: room 33 you can hear the lift door bang loudly each use so dont have that room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Soory to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occassion. The hotel was quiet during your stay. We do have a bar menu that is always available between 6 and 8 pm. I take on board your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our room looked out over the bay we had a fantastic room with a large decked area where we could sit and have coffee and just take in
The view we could walk to town via the promade which was lit up with coloured lights very pretty. Take the old 1947 bus to go to agtha cristies summer house greenways the bus shakes rattles but that is half the fun of it the driver tells you things of interest on the way. The hotel was clean tidy and the staff very helpfull the barman in the evening was very nice and funny. We had a very enjoyable weekend and we would go back in a flash..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank black-cat-slough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback and kind words regarding staff and cleanlines of the hotel. I very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As title says not bad, but not excellent. Very friendly staff, spacious room with lovely view over the bay. Very clean and tidy and plenty of tea and coffee provided. Needs updating but we only used it as a pit stop to sleep and get clean so not really an issue for us. Breakfast provided was a bit of a disappitment but filled a hole! Bar meant to be 24/7 but when we got back from our night out, came back early to relax in said bar, and was shut! Never attempted the pool so can't comment on that. Wet room large enough but water crept onto the carpet if you had it on for too long! Overall good. Would stay again at a cheaper price, we paid £60 for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in teh future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

"The Richm" or "The Richmo", as it proudly displays its title on the facade, is a fairly friendly but tired 3 star (almost) hotel conveniently situated in an area richly sprinkled with hotel accommodation a short walk from the harbour at Torquay and its seaside tourist delights. The booking website showed a tariff of £150 reduced to £37.50. At the reduced price it was very good value. The double room was warm, clean and, apart from a couple of niggles (The bed could have been more comfortable and the shower would have been better if the shower head hadn't drooped everytime I tried to step under the spray).
The dinner offered was reasonably priced for four courses but no alternative was available, which meant that a visit to local restaurants was in order. Breakfast was included and a full English with a choice of fruit and/or cereal in addition with as much tea and coffee as you want. The bar was not horrendously expensive but the quality of wine (by the glass) was disappointing and the "draught" Guiness was canned. Evening entertainment amused the largely oap residents. Wifi was not available in the room and neither was the indoor swimming pool open at the advertised times.
Would I go there again? Well, actually I would....but not at £150!

Room Tip: There is a lift so ask for a room near the top as this is further away from sounds from the car park and evening entertainment.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I have taken on board your comments regarding the tariff and this is being investigated. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Hotel family room - had 4 beds one double & 3 singles - so plenty of space. As previous reviews state rooms are in need of modernising eg fake flower displays & avocado suite in bathroom! Clean enough though and plenty tea & coffee. Could of done with a larger tv especially for the size of the room. Haven't seen a 14" portable tv for a while.
Breakfast was good and nice and friendly staff.
Ideal for what we wanted - a base near the town. Good location - no problem to walk anwhere. As other reviews stated parking is a bit of an issue - top tip take the very first space as you arrive.
Enjoyed our stay - I have given an 'average' rating rather than 'very good' but I would give the hotel a 'good' rating overall - if this option was available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lake3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. Due to the character of the building the rooms do vary in size and style, but I am pleased you found the hotel clean as per our standard. The parking is limited directly ourside the hotel but there is also parking available on the side street in walking distance. We will look forward to welcoming you at the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews