We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tired but Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of the Glenton Devon & Cornwall tour. The hotel was comfortable although tired. Our room was large with plenty of storage space which was great & although tired we where happy only problem was the TV which was old with only the four basic channels available. Again the bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water. The free WiFi was good but unfortunately only available in a certain part of the bar so a very poor range. The evening meal was poor & let our stay there down we where told that the Chef was temporary which really was no excuse. The swimming pool was very clean, the grounds where good & we enjoyed the walk in to the town. Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team who I know will be pleased to read them.

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and whilst you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, I was sorry to read that you did not find your food to be to our usual standards. This is something that again has been noted and is being discussed with Ian and our Operations Manager to ensure that our standards continue to be met at all times.

Thank you once again for your comments, please be assured that these have been taken on board and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    95
    64
    44
    43
See reviews for
58
125
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Glenton Palmer Coach Holiday. Great hotel, good food and attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the choice of food on menu was above and beyond what we were expecting on a coach tour - 4 course meal each night. Short walk to beach and other attractions. Swimming pool in hotel clean and very quiet - there were only 2 of us in on one occasion! The hotel is obviously undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment but the fact that our room was one that had not yet been done did not detract from the overall stay. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms with sea views have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL_CNewtonAycliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team who I know will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Richmond Hotel, Torquay in June. Staff were very helpful and friendly, warm atmosphere and enjoyable stay. Food was delicious and menu's were of excellent choice. Rooms were nice and spacious. Also wheelchair friendly. Excellent value for money, would book again.

Thanks Richmond Hotel for a lovely stay,
Melissa T.

Room Tip: Although I was on the ground floor with my Grandma, the higher floors had balconies which looked ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these are appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

after reading the reviews before we booked i knew this hotel had lots of coach parties, which i know are good all year revenue, but sometimes they do take over. however, i asked for a balcony with a sea view & got it, it was fab, lovely clean room, yes the hotel needs a little TLC, but please think about what you are paying before you moan!!!!. i would have paid double for what we received ...& have done before! the staff here are all very pleasant & helpful always a smile even when you walk past. {& i know some of them were doing very long hours} the breakfast was good, the 2nd day i had kippers & scrambled eggs...delightful. not to far to walk into torquay, a little uphill on the way back, but you can always take a taxi. thank you all for a very pleasant stay, will see you again!

Room Tip: arrive earlier {10am-11am} & wait for a parking space......very limited ask for a balcony they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WombourneTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive and constructive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these are appreciated. As you say, we do have some areas that need upgrading and we have an ongoing maintenance programme across the hotel group.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

we stayed at the richmond and enjoyed it,ian and the bar staff very friendly and helpfull,food was very good,would go back again,only downside was the rooms we were in near carpark ,there was a lot of noise early morning with the coaches waiting for guest to take them on there excursions,but apart from that it was fine.

Room Tip: make sure you get a balcony room as you are woken up by the coaches in carpark side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonYorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these are appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

stayed for 5 days with Caledonian Coach travel. Excellant value for money. put special request for seaview room which we got plus a balcony. lovely view over Bay and hotel gardens. Food was really good with choices for all. Manager and staff welcoming. Only problem with room was noise from entertainment lounge but after a long day out we were really too tired to notice.
Would look forward to staying again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team who will be pleased to read them.

Please be assured that your comments concerning the bar noise have been taken on board and will be discussed to see if any measures can be taken to address this.

Thank you again for your review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel is a little tired and in places in need of some TLC but it was perfectly adequate for a short stay. It is used by coach parties but only one was there when we stayed. The food was good and I'd stay again.

Room Tip: We rejected the first room (ground floor) we were allocated as the mattress had springs almost throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We have an ongoing maintenance programme across our hotel group and agree there are some areas which need upgrading, however we pride ourselves on the level of service and hospitality provided and which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#18 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing