We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab staff”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #75 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arrived and we were given a nice big room with a wonderful view of the seafront, even though we didn't request it! The room was comfortable and clean with most mod cons. The hotel is dated and needs wifi and remotes in all rooms but don't let this put you of booking with them. The staff are friendly, very professional, make you feel welcome, and couldnt do enough for you. Thank you

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martine0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at The Richmond.

We have a great team in place at the property and I am delighted you were well looked after and enjoyed their hospitality.

The rooms on the front enjoy the wonderful seafront views and sounds like this was a pleasant surprise.

We are aware there are areas of the Hotel which are in need of updating and assure you we are working to address these as part of an on-going refurbishment plan.

Thank you again for your feedback which will be forward to our team and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Richmond
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days (17th to 21st March) with Grand UK Holidays. Fortunate to have a great bedroom with balcony and heating that worked. Communal rooms very cold all week due to 'boiler not working' - eventually more portable heaters purchased so by last day they warmed up enough not to have to wear a coat indoors! This was the first week of opening for the season and felt like we were the guinea pigs to check what worked and what didn't. Staff were very helpful and friendly though. Meal quality was variable but sufficient choice and quantity. Would we stay again? Possibly if the heating functioned properly and more staff recruited to provide a quicker service (hopefully this will happen as the season kicks off anyway). It is what it is! Accept you are not staying in a 3/4 star hotel and you will be OK

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea views much better but be prepared to walk up the stairs as the lift only holds...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie59Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I do apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your stay with regards to the heating issues in the Hotels public areas. This was an un-foreseen problem which arose as soon as the Hotel re-opened to full capacity with all areas being fully operational and at such point we experienced a breakdown. I assure you this has been addressed.

We advertise our property as a good standing 2 star Hotel and hope as such we meet with expectations. We pride ourselves on good levels of service and hospitality provided and are pleased to read that Staff were helpful and friendly.

Thank you for your feedback and hope you may consider staying with us again in the future.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely heated swimming pool, games room smelled , out dated rooms, overpriced 100 a night !!!!!! Someone only paid 60 for 1 night !! Waited10 minutes to be seated for breakfast , not very good breakfast overall not stay again

Room Tip: Have a balcony makes a good view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayward20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week. First impressions weren't great as the hotel looked run down and tired from both the outside and the inside. Was surprised by the room though as it was decorated quite well and was overall very clean. After the first couple of days a coach party arrived which was very annoying as the outside and foyer became crowded with mobility scooters; our room was over looking the terrace where they congregated smoking so the smell of smoke came into the room (had to leave window open as room v hot) and their loud out of tune entertainment made it impossible to sleep. I also would say the short cut path at the back needs to be tidied. Overall enjoyed the stay but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CaraShan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with friends. We paid £100 a room (B&B), which quite frankly was way too expensive. The hotel is in need of extensive refurbishment. The room was clean but very very tired. Even the telephone/radio/alarm clock was of a vintage only seen in retro police drama's nowadays. There was a pervasive smell of sickly sweet air freshener that seemed designed to hide an aray of unpleasant aromas. If you're looking for a break, I'm sure you'll be able to find something better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treenyweenywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently

I really was very sorry to read your comments regarding the overall décor of the Richmond, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. Fortunately I was staying with friends as if I went with my family I would have refused to stay. Our room was, in my opinion, an absolute disgrace. There was a hole in the wall above the bed which seemed to have been caused by somebody punching it. The headboard of the bed was absolutely covered in hairs and there was an iron burn mark on the carpet. The ceiling of the room had a massive stain and was damaged in other areas. The only plus side was the very nice radio/alarm clock/telephone combination unit - I'm not sure why these haven't caught on more widely.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Munky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion.

Please be assured that all of your comments have been taken on board

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013. Initially booked five days, then extended it for another five days. Hotel was general very good, as was the room. Desk staff excellent and very helpful. Location is great, on a very quiet street very near the sea-front. Didn't managed to get a balcony room, but I suspect the views are great up there!
A few negatives, breakfast seemed to be chaotic, but food arrived as ordered. Choice limited, but it's probably what you expect in this price-range. Our biggest disappointment was discovering the milk for the cereals was on the turn one morning. Staff initially claimed it was in date then stated it had happened before a few weeks ago. Disappointing that they are not checking such things, especially if it happened before! We decided to skip the cereals from that point onwards, and for the last few days skipped breakfast altogether and headed to the near-by Weatherspoons (we would probably have done this anyway for the variety).
A few other negative points - kept getting left only 1 set of towels and had to ask the desk staff for more, which there was never a problem with. The floor-boards are very creaky, but there wasn't a lot of late-night activity so this didn't bother us. TV was very outdated, not tuned correctly and missing the remote. We called at the 99p shop in Paignton and picked up a universal remote (for 99p) which quickly solved the tuning problem. I think we'll keep this in our suitcase. Final negative point was the tea! - Both breakfast and in-room tea was terrible! I can recommend the chap on the sea-front for a good cheap £1 cuppa though, or just bring your own tea-bags, which you should probably do anyway no matter where you're staying.
Also worth mentioning, for the benefit of the hotel, is that there was no way of getting a proper coffee after 9pm from the bar. For those that don't drink a lot, this would be a good thing to offer. However, you're within 5 minutes of a Beefeater that serve Costa, so if you're desperate you have an option.
In summary, apart from the few very minor negative points, we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl_and_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these will be appreciated.

Thank you once again for your custom and please be assured that your constructive comments have been noted.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £35 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing