We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #74 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Richmond for 3 nights on a coach tour. The food was good, the rooms reasonably clean and the communal areas comfy and welcoming. The best thing about the place was the staff - they were all friendly polite and helpful - you only had to ask for something and they would do their best to do it. Thanks to them all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwenT356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have just returned from a short break at the Richmond Hotel. This hotel is old but is pleasantly maintained, functional and clean.

I booked a family room from a website for myself, my Son (8) and my Nephew (10), just as a pit stop for Woodlands, Living Coasts and Paignton Zoo. The price was reasonable for a B&B and booked a family room. After booking I did phone the hotel and the room we were allocated would have been a ground floor family room but I asked if we could be put in a balcony room as my Son/Nephew wanted to look out with their binoculars at the sea. The manager contacted me by email and reallocated a family room with a sea view at no extra cost - I was delighted.

After Woodlands for a full fun packed day we were ready to rest at the hotel, although the hotel is a few roads above the main promenade with a road including a few boarded up/in redevelopment hotels nearby, the area was pleasant.

On arrival we were greeted and checked in. The room was clean and a great size and the balcony was lovely. We went out that evening and didn't spend much time in the room apart from sleeping. It was surprisingly quiet.

Breakfast was lovely and the service was excellent.

Both nights were the same, no noise and great breakfast to start the day off.

I would recommend this hotel. It is not top of the range and if you can overlook a few decor issues and appreciate the hard work of the staff that assist to make your stay a happy one, then this is the hotel for you.

I will be back to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Our family room was number 36 and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernowmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been a coach driver for many years and this Hotel is one of the best I have been in .....I do know that it had some problems in the past with " not so good " management, but that has now changed the team that are running the Hotel now are so good,, nothing is too much trouble and the staff they have work so very hard ..... all of my passengers were VERY impressed. The food was excellent and well presented on the whole all of my passengers had a marvellous time... thank you Sam and Fernando, you made a nice weekend into a great one....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Many thanks for your glowing review your have recently posted regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted to learn you and your passengers enjoyed the hospitality offered by our new joint General Managers Sam and Fernando at The Richmond.

The team does work very hard to deliver good levels of customer service along with good food and they will be most pleased to read your comments.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you, your coach and passengers back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arrived and we were given a nice big room with a wonderful view of the seafront, even though we didn't request it! The room was comfortable and clean with most mod cons. The hotel is dated and needs wifi and remotes in all rooms but don't let this put you of booking with them. The staff are friendly, very professional, make you feel welcome, and couldnt do enough for you. Thank you

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martine0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at The Richmond.

We have a great team in place at the property and I am delighted you were well looked after and enjoyed their hospitality.

The rooms on the front enjoy the wonderful seafront views and sounds like this was a pleasant surprise.

We are aware there are areas of the Hotel which are in need of updating and assure you we are working to address these as part of an on-going refurbishment plan.

Thank you again for your feedback which will be forward to our team and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days (17th to 21st March) with Grand UK Holidays. Fortunate to have a great bedroom with balcony and heating that worked. Communal rooms very cold all week due to 'boiler not working' - eventually more portable heaters purchased so by last day they warmed up enough not to have to wear a coat indoors! This was the first week of opening for the season and felt like we were the guinea pigs to check what worked and what didn't. Staff were very helpful and friendly though. Meal quality was variable but sufficient choice and quantity. Would we stay again? Possibly if the heating functioned properly and more staff recruited to provide a quicker service (hopefully this will happen as the season kicks off anyway). It is what it is! Accept you are not staying in a 3/4 star hotel and you will be OK

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea views much better but be prepared to walk up the stairs as the lift only holds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie59Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I do apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your stay with regards to the heating issues in the Hotels public areas. This was an un-foreseen problem which arose as soon as the Hotel re-opened to full capacity with all areas being fully operational and at such point we experienced a breakdown. I assure you this has been addressed.

We advertise our property as a good standing 2 star Hotel and hope as such we meet with expectations. We pride ourselves on good levels of service and hospitality provided and are pleased to read that Staff were helpful and friendly.

Thank you for your feedback and hope you may consider staying with us again in the future.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely heated swimming pool, games room smelled , out dated rooms, overpriced 100 a night !!!!!! Someone only paid 60 for 1 night !! Waited10 minutes to be seated for breakfast , not very good breakfast overall not stay again

Room Tip: Have a balcony makes a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayward20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week. First impressions weren't great as the hotel looked run down and tired from both the outside and the inside. Was surprised by the room though as it was decorated quite well and was overall very clean. After the first couple of days a coach party arrived which was very annoying as the outside and foyer became crowded with mobility scooters; our room was over looking the terrace where they congregated smoking so the smell of smoke came into the room (had to leave window open as room v hot) and their loud out of tune entertainment made it impossible to sleep. I also would say the short cut path at the back needs to be tidied. Overall enjoyed the stay but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CaraShan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 86 in Torquay
857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#84 of 86 in Torquay
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 86 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 86 in Torquay
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 86 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing