We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY THERE ITS DIRTY!”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEVER STAY THERE ITS DIRTY!”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The bed covers smelt vile and were yellow and had not been changed it seemed like in 6 months it was awuful!!! The sink area had not been cleaned n a while area, there were whiskers all around the back and grime. The hygeine of the so called hotel room i stayed in was disgraceful! and when i asked for a refund i got a very hostile attitude from the owners saying that it was my responsibilty to let them know!!!!!!! well im sorry but it's there duty to ensure that the room is suitable for a customer to sleep in if you are running a business!!!! I was shocked at there attitude and after a battle got a refund, they are very lucky that the hotel inspector the week before did not sleep in that room or the place would be shut down. This is the WORST by far place i have every stayed in my life i would rather have slept in the toliet. I would never recommend anyone to stay there! I hope i don't catch something from there hygeine standards and am glad i did not book in for breakfast there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madammoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    110
    71
    49
    50
See reviews for
66
140
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
truro cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We have stayed in the hotel before and had such a great stay that we returned and will do so again. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the room we stay in is well presented with a big balcony overlooking the bay. The hotel is situated 10mins walk from city centre and about the same to the Princess theatre.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We have hust returned from the Richmond for a new year break.
Our room was very shabby and smelt of cigarette smoke. We had to sleep with the windows wide open in spite of the temperature being -2 degrees outside. The bath had a shower but it could not be regulated. either scalding hot or cold. The fittings were very shabby and were in urgent need of refurbishment. We changed our room the next day for a better room. This could not be described as a double room but it was clean. There were no other rooms so we settled for this.
The food was ok but for the New years meal there were no waiting staff to serve our meal or lay the tables. Hence no starters. Luckily we had a buffet main meal .It was a real shambles with the manager coming round 30 mins after our meal had finished trying to get rid of the only hot sweet....Rhubarb and custard. Would have had it if it had come earlier.
We were given a shot glass of grapefruit juice to celebrate the New Year....Where was the advertised bubbly?
The decorations in the hotel were wonderful...the best I had seen. Just a pity they did not spend the time and money on the rooms and service.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank greenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My wife and i have been organising New Year Tours for 35 / 45 peoplefor over 20 years and without doubt our New Year spent at the Richmond was the best ever.Nothing was to much trouble for the staff or managment.Food was good and the entertainment was excellent.The decoration s were magnificent.This was the opinions of all our group not just ours,so much so they want to go back .Thanks again for a wonderful 4 days.John

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We have just got back from a Tinsel and Turkey weekend at the Richmond and first impression was that the hotel is in serious need of refubishment. The lady in charge was reading out the rules and regulations before handing out 50 keys which was extremly slow and the room we were given was not one of the nicestl! The rooms do not go in any sort of order and there are seval different sets of steps through doors to rooms with no lift.
Some of the rooms have been refurbished which were very pleasant with a balcony overlooking torbay, lucky if you get one of these. However there are lots which have not been done and they are not pleasant! I stayed in room 48 which was very dated with condensation on the very small, dirty window which we were unable to open (the maid did open it after we left a note). The floors creaked, the beds creaked and were uncomfortable, the decor was so old, the bathroom had a carpet in which was frayed and had nails holding it in place.The tiles and shower curtain were awful with the shower which was running off the taps, the towels were also frayed with only a bar of soap supplied and a musty kind of smell. Room 45 was the same but had holes in the net curtains in both the bedroom and the bathroom. Room 49 was absolutely tiny, I do not know how they could call it a double room. One of the other rooms I saw was a family room which was in a worse state than the others already mentioned as the bathroom had brown flower tiles with a beige/brown colour suit which the bath tipped slightly when someone climbed in for a shower. THESE ARE THE ROOMS WHICH ARE NOT ADVERTISED ON THE WEB PAGE!!
One person in our party was given room 31 which was outside the building round the back which was in fact staffing accomodation. The whole building was so really hot. Meals are taken downstairs which also housed the very small pool and a games room. Food was fairly basic but adequate, we asked for additional rolls with dinner and was told there was none so we brought our own on the second night, we asked for extra roast potatoes and they just didn't come out. Some of the staff were helful but not all of them . A small glass of Rose wine cost £2.95 with pints at £2.60 they did offer a happy hour between 8-9 but this only reduced pints to £2.00 all other drinks were normal prices.
The location was ok with about 20 minute walk to the main town centre which is a lovely shopping area and the harbour is a nice place to walk to.
I would not recomend this hotel as it needs a lot of money and time spent on it to bring it up to date, however they have said that all rooms will be refurbished by late next year!
This is a true account of this hotel so think carefully before booking and if you still feel the need to stay here make sure you get one of the newly refurbished rooms with a balcony and you may have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank truthfulfromnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Reading some the other reviews, I reckon there must be TWO Richmond Hotels in Torquay. This one could not have been better: Beautiful, spacious room; wonderful view; friendly, efficient staff; everything was clean - totally spotless; excellent breakfast; great value. We will definttely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamSamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belbox09
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Its tough to get a place to stay when there are 7 guys in your group, the Richmond was fine with us. I was told over the phone that we could check in at 2pm, upon arrival it would be 4pm, was'nt impressed. The location is pretty good, we could walk into the town centre in about 20-30 minutes. Also we got bed and breakfast for only £30 pppn which is a great deal. The hotel was fine, breakfast again was just fine. My room was a bit dated with a few carpet stains and it took forever to get the shower temperature right without burning myself. The bed was quite comfortable, the info in my room said that an iron and board was available, I asked at the desk and they said there wasnt said items (take your own iron) generally the hotel was fine, no complaints from my friends so upon that I would recommend this hotel and to save searching around if I returned to Torquay I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belbox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#51 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#18 of 87 in Torquay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing