We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very child friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #23 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very child friendly!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We came down to Torquay for a friend's wedding and it was the first time away with our four-month old daughter. We had a fantastic weekend and this was in large part due to our wonderful hosts at the Sandpiper. We were collected from the train station, the room was immaculate complete with travel cot and breakfast was delicious. Located within easy walking distance of the seaside and other amenities, we had a very enjoyable stay and were made to feel very welcome by the friendly owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraKassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2009, Owner at The Sandpiper Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here. We look forward to meeting you again the next time you are in Torquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    33
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
86
161
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I spent a lovely weekend recently in Torquay for a wedding and stayed at the Sandpiper Guest House. It was an easy walk from the station - but they collected us anyway. The owners were charming and attentive. The rooms spotless and comfortable. The breakfast substantial and varied. It is the quintessential British B&B and a very, very good one at that!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends whilst motorcycling around Devon and Cornwall. It's in a good position,ten minute walk to local amenities.good off road parking.the room was clean and comfortable.cant fault it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 350neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night to realise I had made a mistake online and we hadn't booked until Sunday. This was not a problem a room was found for us. I've not stayed in a guest house for a long time. I can't fault the Sandpiper, our hosts were extremely accommodating and very kind. We only stayed for one night, the service was superb as well as the rooms being very clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent. We had such a lovely stay that I have already enquired about coming back in July.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyM680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carterton oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This guest house run by Helen and Russ is outstanding. The minuet you walk in you are made to feel at home. The rooms were clean and comfortable with on suite and tea making facilities. Lovely dining room with a choice of everything you would want for breakfast which would set you up for the day. Evening meals at an extra charge again excellent . Overall excellent value for money and to make things even better , if like us you are dog owners they are made equally as welcome. Their two children Adam and Laura are also very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for any of the family.

Room Tip: Excellent location in a quiet area but within walking of Torquay. All rooms seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Sandpiper is a guest house licensed to sell alcohol and they have a small bar area open in the evening as well as wine to go with dinner etc. Our room though not one of the refurbished rooms was spotless, included fluffy white towels and toiletries; perhaps a little old fashioned but very well decorated, comfortable and overlooked the garden. There was a small flat screen TV but the guest lounge has a large TV for those who want it. The breakfast was excellent with good quality produce, nicely laid table and fast unobtrusive service. The dining room spacious and bright. A pleasant walk direct from this guest house takes you to the harbour shops and gardens by the seafront which are a delight. All in all a great stay for a modest price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suewWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Another great stay at the Sandpiper Torquay, Russell and Helen were great hosts The hotel is spotlessly clean, our room was excellent with a large en-suite, Breakfast was excellent. We will be returning later in the year. Doug + Sheila

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug +sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#33 of 149 in Torquay
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#22 of 149 in Torquay
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#14 of 149 in Torquay
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#88 of 149 in Torquay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Property: The Sandpiper Guest House
Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing