We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #21 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a wonderful family-run guesthouse. The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a real treat with lots of delicious fresh fruit to choose from as well as yoghurt, cereals and cooked breakfasts. It is within easy reach of the railway station, beach and town centre. We have stayed here before and are already planning to come again next year. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Another fantastic stay with Russell and Helen, the perfect hosts who can't do enough for you. Breakfast choice fantastic, guest house spotlessly clean and well located. Thanks once again for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNewFarnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Chose the Sandpiper because it seemed reasonably priced compared to some other places. The place has a homely feel and the people who work there are lovely. We stayed in room 2 which was perfectly sized for a 1 night stay, and it was immaculately clean, which is the most important thing in my opinion! Great shower, also another bonus! Breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from, especially as it was included in the price. If I stay in Torquay again I'd definitely book here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our dog whilst walking the Coast Path. We were welcomed & shown around the guest house by very friendly dog-loving owners, Russell & Helen. Our downstairs room was tiny, nowhere to put cases out of the way, but we managed. Everything we needed was there. The whole place was reassuringly clean & neat.
We had a very reasonably priced bar meal & drinks out in the garden chatting to the owners, their lovely children, Adam & Laura & dogs, & other guests. Breakfast was good, with options of smoked salmon & scrambled egg, kippers, smoked haddock & poached egg as well as a traditional Full English & also fresh fruit, juices, cereals etc.
The location was quiet, just a short walk to the beach, centre & harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

2 night stay at the end of July. From start to finish everything exceeded our expectations!! Greeted with warmth and smile that continued throughout our stay where nothing was too much trouble. We booked last minute and requested space in the room to be made for our daughters cot bed and on arrival the room had been rearranged to accomodate this. Room and bathroom immaculately clean and furnished wonderfully. Breakfast cooked beautifully and plenty to choose from on the cold buffet. Service throughout was first class!! Cannot fault this guest house and will not settle for anywhere else when we come back to Torquay. Thank you Russ and Helen, it was a pleasure to stay with you. Adam, Renata, Abigail and Charlie (bump) xx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renadabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I chose the Sandpiper after another reviewer recently posted about a positive stay they had whilst also on a motorcycle trip through the area.

The owners of the Sandpiper were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The accommodation itself was spotlessly clean, spacious and in a good location near the town centre of Torquay. The house has everything you need from wifi, to a bar/restaurant and secure parking. I felt safe leaving my brand new motorcycle in their off street parking area in front of the house. The breakfast was also one of the best I had on my recent trip throughout Devon and Cornwall.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Sandpiper to anyone heading to Torquay and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyc2lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Sandpiper Guest House in late June 2013 and we would highly recommend the place. My parents were in a double room on the ground floor, I was in a single under the roof. All rooms are en-suite, clean, well-quipped and of a decent size. The owners are very friendly and most helpful indeed. Very good breakfast. Large parking right in front of the house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falco1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#82 of 149 in Torquay
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#17 of 149 in Torquay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#94 of 149 in Torquay
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parks Guest Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 149 in Torquay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing