We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous 7 days at the Sandpiper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #24 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I chose the Sandpiper from the internet so it was our first visit. Everything described on the internet and photographs etc. proved to be exactly as shown. Our room was immaculate, newly decorated with good quality furnishings and the en suite likewise. Everything was spotless. We were very comfortable throughout the week. Helen & Russell were perfect hosts and were most helpful, no matter what was asked of them. The breakfasts were plentiful with a varied choice and of very good quality. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to return later in the year and cannot wait! No hesitation in recommending The Sandpiper whatsoever. 5 Star rating!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went to Torquay for the Royal British Legion AGM and stayed at the Sandpiper and found it to be a friendly and comfortable guest house. The food was very good. They catered for us as well when we had to leave early in the morning for meetings.
Thank you Helen & Russell for making us welcome and your 2 children

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aa_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself, my wife and two daughters stayed for one night. We had a double and twin room that were next to each other and set apart from other rooms, ideal for us as a family. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, very peaceful at night so a good nights sleep was had by all. The breakfast was wonderful, good quality locally sourced ingredients and nicely cooked.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2, a double and a twin, ideal as a family especially as these two rooms were set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A warm welcome awaited us ! A lovely situated guest house , the rooms fresh & clean with a nice comfortable bed & en-suite with a nice powerful shower. The full english breakfast was cooked to perfection every morning & served in a well appointed bright & airy dinning room. There is also a lovely well stocked bar & a lovely decking area to sit.Thank you Russ & Helen Adam & Laura

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 321DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Being sent to Devon as a freelance engineer on what was meant to be for just a few weeks i booked into the Sandpiper guest house on 21/10/2012.
The welcome i received from Russell and Helen was very friendly.
Although i was working all over Devon the bulk of my work was in Exeter but i had found such lovely accommodation that the daily commute was worth it up until the the day i booked out 28/02/2014
In the 16 months that i stayed i can say that it was close to all that Torquay had to offer.
If i ever i cause to work in the that area again the Sandpiper guest is the one i would telephone first.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sandpiper guest house over the easter w/end,which was the most enjoyable we have had for the price. The owners welcomed us to there establishment and allocated us our room with out delay. Russ then gave us some very helpful information about Torquay and the facilities of the guest house,which also included a full english breakfast. I would like to say that Russ and Helen made our stay very comfortable,and couldn't do enough for us.Thank you to everyone at the Sandpiper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mreedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A lovely little guest house with a very welcoming family. The breakfast was fantastic.Very clean rooms. This guest house is excellent value for money and is in a great location. Close to the town but away from any noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#83 of 149 in Torquay
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#13 of 149 in Torquay
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#21 of 149 in Torquay
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Torquay
Harmony Torquay
#37 of 149 in Torquay
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £60 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing