We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #22 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay at the Sandpiper Guest House it was very clean and pretty and the owners (Helen and Russell) (Laura) we're very helpful and I can't wait to go again.5 stars for the Sandpiper Guest House!!!!!!!!they give 110% to everything they do and cook beautiful breakfast

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank dacy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Can't fault anything. Russell and Helen were very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. Our room was well situated, very clean, good shower and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast and evening meals were both excellent and they catered well for our daughter and she loved the food. Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a great place to stay. Our daughter was upset to leave today as she had a great time. Will definitely be making a return visit next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

As guest houses and private hotels go this is amongst the very best. The only thing that takes it out of the "excellent" bracket for us was that the en-suite facilities in our room were rather on the "tight" side, However. I appreciate that this is an issue for many proprietiors of older properties seeking to provide modern comprehensive facilities. That said the hosts (Russell and Helen)and "staff" (Adam and Laura) could not be faulted for service and helpfulness and the Sandpiper provided a well presented, clean and comfortable base for our 5 night stay at a very competitive rate. The breakfasts were large and to a very high standard, we had two evening meals which were reasonably priced and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JohnEMcLaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Sandpiper is a credit to the owners. We received a warm welcome; the room was well furnished and spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was very good - powerful with plenty of hot water, and the breakfast was absolutely superb. You can order an evening meal and there is a bar with a pleasant seating area outside or you can sit in the communal lounge, another clean and pleasant room. We would highly recommend the Sandpiper to others and look forward to staying there again in August.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had our first holiday together in Torquay and stayed at the sandpiper. Service was outstanding, more than expected for a four star rating. Rooms are superb and well done, staff are great&the food is excellent! So good we even rang them to see if we could go over for dinner the night after we left. Dog friendly, excellent. Can not say a bad word.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asherzxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014


A great place to stay with excellent service and a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Had an enjoyable breakfast which left us feeling filled up until mid afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a week at the guest house and it is immaculate, food well cooked, service was way above great. We felt welcome and though we came by car, if we had not we would have been collected from the nearby train station. Helen and Russell are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the comfortable bed and lovely room. This Guest house is well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: We had the front facing disabled room which is in the annex and in my mind the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lindajoyce2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#82 of 149 in Torquay
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#93 of 149 in Torquay
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
#24 of 149 in Torquay
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parks Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing