We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel, well placed and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #5 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendly hotel, well placed and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

I stayed at Kingsholm for one night on a coast crawl. Fantastic little hotel - friendly and personal service, clean, well-placed and great value for money. Definite thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneLondon_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
467
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We have just spent five days at Kingsholm and were impressed by the personal service and quality of accommodation and breakfast. The hotel is nicely situated within a short walking distance of restaurants and the main shopping centre, yet quiet enough during the week to get a decent nights sleep.

This informal and friendly run establishment is a testimony to the professional and efficient manner in which Carl and June run the hotel and would have no hesitation in both recommending and staying again at Kingsholm.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We booked our short trip direct with June as I had a few questions to ask as we were planning to take our dog along on our visit! I couldn't have wished for a more friendly response, we were in the area for a birthday party so obviously wouldn't be able to take our dog with us to the party, June was totally understanding of this and allowed us to book the room without hesitation! The decor is light and bright, the en-suite bedroom was really nice and spacious and had everything we could have wished for and more! The welcoming cuppa on our arrival was most welcome! The breakfast was hearty and freshly cooked, which set us up for our long journey back home! I would not hesitate to book at the Kingsholm again and would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends! Nearly forgot to mention that it also offers secure parking!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterdog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I have just returned from a great weekend with friends in Torquay. The Kingsholme hotel was perfect, carl and June were the perfect hosts and the hotel was in a great location. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and breakfast was lovely with a great choice. I would not hesitate in booking this hotel again if I return to Torquay. EXCELLENT value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieDalton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

If people are prepared to work this hard to give you a good deal in a hotel, you should take the opportunity. A really friendly small private hotel on the main drag out of Torquay (so other commentators are right - there can be some noise outside the front windows at night if you have the window open) with a husband and wife team who are determined to deliver great customer service in a traditional setting. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SE27Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

The moment we arrived we were offered a welcome pot of tea by Carl and June, Carl also helped carry our luggage to our room. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the bedroom very spacious with a comfortable bed. June and Carl were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. The Kingsholm is in a very good location close to the town centre, harbour, restaurants and bars. I would highly recommend a stay at the Kingsholm and we will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Just stayed 6 nights, June & Carl (Hosts) could not have been more welcoming; nothing too much trouble. Rooms cleaned daily; excellent decor; great breakfast and very relaxing. Great location, 5 min walk to the harbour and entertainment. Home from home, and trust me I have been in a few b&b's and this rates right up there, with the special welcome and service offered by June & Carl.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing