We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly atmosphere!”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and friendly atmosphere!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the breakfast, will be booking again sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
487
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is a guest house which has recently taken over by new owners. Every thing seems to have been professionally refurbished to a high standard. The accomodation was comfortable and spotless with attention to detail is second to none, toiletries, powerful hairdryer, kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and bottled water. The breakfast was excellent with fresh coffee. Nothing seem too much trouble, it's like a home from home. There is limited parking to the rear, with concessionary parking close by. Ideally close to the harbour with plenty of choice for bars, restaurants, theatres & cinema. A good location for a few days away or perhaps longer. Would we go back? Yes, most certainly

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkeyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We loved our stay at Kingsholm. We found it very easily very close to the harbour. A very short walk to the shops and sea front. The rooms were beautiful, cosy, clean and well stocked with anything you may need. The whole place had a relaxed homely feel and that was down to the hosts, who couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. We thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligriffin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We visited Kingsholm for our first holiday with our 9 month old daughter, and had a brilliant time. The location was ideal, there is a 5 minute walk to the harbour, shops, bars and restaurants. The room felt like home from home. There was a TV with freeview, tea/ coffee and shower. The breakfasts were lovely, we had cooked breakfasts everyday. June and Carl were fantastic with my little girl, cooking her a boiled egg every morning and letting us use a fridge to store her food and milk. They were very approachable and hardworking!! I would definitely recommend Kingholm and will be visiting again soon !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I was looking for a weekend break as a surprise for my parents and came across Kingsholm hotel in my search.After reading other travellers reviews on their stay i knew this was the hotel i wanted to book. My parents were not dissapointed, they said that i couldn't have picked a better place to stay.Carl and June were very welcoming and drinks were offered on arrival.The hotel was very clean and the bedroom was spacious and homely.Local amenities were only a short 5 minute walk away. There was a very good choice for breakfast each morning . My parents said they will definately go back to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Extremely friendly, welcoming couple. The rooms were emaculate and the breakfast was fresh and tasty. Excellent location, didn't use the car at all on our three day stay. Will definatley be returning. If your going to stay in Torquay, this is a great, small family run hotel and i can't recommend it highly enough!! Many thanks June and Carl.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sizsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I stayed at Kingsholm for one night on a coast crawl. Fantastic little hotel - friendly and personal service, clean, well-placed and great value for money. Definite thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneLondon_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 149 in Torquay
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#7 of 149 in Torquay
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing