We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

What a wonderful hotel. I arrived late and was rather tired after driving all day and was immediately offered fresh tea and coffee. The location is superb with lots of restaurants, bars and shops just down the road, but the hotel still had free parking! Try finding that in a similar location in Torquay!! Genuinely the Hotel was great and absolutely immaculate.I have paid 5 times as much and not felt as comfortable.Without any doubt I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
490
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

From the welcoming pot of tea for three to the offer of phoning for a taxi on a wet morning of our return journey , nothing was too much trouble. Bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Breakfast - freshly cooked with plenty of choice. If we come back down this way again, would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Kingsholm is a well situated hotel near to the town and harbour, lots of eating places nearby and some great pubs.
Friendly owners who made us very welcome and nothing too much trouble, the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and most of all very clean. Food was great and choice of breakfast.
We would definately stay at Kingsholm again and certainly recommend to family and friends.
Thankyou for a lovelly week.

Room Tip: Front bedroom with view over Torwood Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linney58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Fantastic location a few minutes from harbour and shops. Free parking at hotel meant we didn't have to worry about the car during our stay. June and Carl made sure our stay was enjoyable and their suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to eat at were more than helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast choice was excellent and set us up for the day. Sorry June and Carl but we will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheam, surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for the weekend.
The stay was a pleasure from arrival to departure..
Large clean room, with hot shower, tea/coffee facilities, flat screen freeview tv and hair dryer..
What more do you need?
Hotel is 2 minutes walk from the seafront and all the bars and resturants but is located in a quiet place, so no noise at night..
Car parking is free in a secure car park behind the hotel..
Best part was the breakfast, lovely full english cooked to order, with all the trimmings..
The hosts Carl and June was lovely and couldn't do enough for us..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrencrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Staying at the Kingsholm was a lovely start to our holiday in Devon. We could not have asked for better value accommodation. Carl and June are a lovely friendly couple and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms were recently decorated and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and a good start to the day. We found the location ideal - relatively quiet and just a short but moderately steep walk back from the harbour, the many restaurants and other areas explored. We would have stayed longer if rooms had been available - so book early!
Jean & John

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collier44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Very clean and recently decorated with a great bed in our room. About 10-15 mins walk from the harbour & town centre. Up a hill but so is about everywhere in Torquay, however it's not a steep hill. Still not for someone with walking difficulties and the hotel is on 3 floors and as you might expect from such a building no lift. Numerous restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance but not so close as to be heard. On a main road to Babbacombe but at night there is very little traffic. Our room was at the front and I didn't hear it. At breakfast wide permutation of eggs, bacon, toast and other plate fillers. Prunes optional on request (phew!). June and Carl very friendly and welcolming on arrival and throughout our visit which was for 7 nights. If we are back down in Torquay I won't hesitate to see if they have a vacancy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyGArmadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 150 in Torquay
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing