We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant ... loved it”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #9 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant ... loved it”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed for 3 nights .Carl and June were brilliant ,made us feel really welcome ..loved the cuppa bought to our room on arrival.Breakfast cooked just how we ordered it ,Hotel was spotless..location was fantastic .. cannot fault it in any way ..will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
481
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's a little awkward to arrive at in a car (limited parking at hotel but you get a permit for the nearby car park - at no extra price unlike some other hotels) so worth ringing as you get into Torquay proper for instructions. The place itself is in a very good location, a short walk to the waterfront, which was just right as it can get surprisingly noisy there so I wouldn't have wanted to stay much closer. The walk felt nice and safe on a relatively main road, although it's slightly uphill so best for fit people (no lift in the hotel either).

The hotel itself was lovely, well decorated and kept, a great little lounge and breakfast room, bedrooms well kitted out and clean, and the owners were really friendly and always ready to help, but equally kept out of the way and didn't 'bother' you. Complimentary biscuits in the rooms was a nice touch with the coffee-/tea-making facilities, especially as they were vegan :) I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

On arriving at The Kingsholm after our long drive from London all we wanted to do was check-in and explore, but the welcome we received from June and Carl we soon forgot about exploring. Having been shown to our rooms which were very comfortable we 3 lads went exploring. The harbour was just over 300 metres away with lots of bars and clubs which we were soon to discover later in the day. The breakfast after the night before was a very welcome treat. June and Carl, more June than Carl cooked up a blinding full english. The only disappointment was that the stay wasn't long enough!
June and Carl have one of the 'Jewels of Torquay' and we'll definitely be back.

Robert, Mustafa, Weston

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A brilliant place to stay. Fantastic very obliging hosts who were more than happy to cater for my diet during my stay. This place to me is faultless. Have already booked a return stay and now i wont stay anywhere else in torquay. The location is great, didnt need the car. The hosts even pay for you to park in a car park 2 mins away from the hotel. Only downside was checking out :-( we didnt want to go. Highly recommended. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangarooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a fantastic, clean and comfortable hotel which is just a short walk from shops, bars and restaurants.
The breakfast is amazing!
June and Carl are great hosts.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

weekend break in Torquay was GREAT,due to our stay at the Kingsholm,friendly welcome,lovely clean comfortable room,great breakfast,,will definately be back !!,soon I hope,Thanks Carl xx

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi-gee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

this is as my guest book entry. Thank heavens for the internet which helped us find this great place to stay. the hospitality was great and the food and accomadation second to none.

Room Tip: room 4 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing