We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at Kingsholme Hotel”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Kingsholme Hotel was a really good location near shops pubs etc Carl and June were very welcoming the rooms very comfortable and modern flat screen television nice bedding lovely fluffy towels in bathroom breakfast was very tasty and a good choice cooked to order also bar area which was very welcome before setting off for dinner. If I visit Torquay again will definitley go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

An excellent stay in a hotel close to restaurants, Torquay harbour and other amenities. Very clean hotel. Lovely hosts. 10/10 breakfasts.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Torwood gardens or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I would definatley go back to this hotel as everything about it was first rate. It was in a good location and the harbour and resturants/bars were only a few mins walk. The actual hotel was in a quiet location. The owners were very friendly and made you feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stopped at the Kingsholme last year,its has since change ownership to Carl & June and their young family.It was nice to see that they have maintained the high standard set by the previous owners and have infact made some improvements since they took over in Nov 2010.They make you feel very welcome,the rooms are well equiped and spotlessly clean. They serve an excellent breakfast with a excellent choice to choose from. Carl was very helpfull with a good knowledge of the local area, suggesting a good variety of places eat and also places of interest and local events that were on during my stay.I would highly recomend it and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidbent1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts June & Carl, they treated us with a very warm welcome. Our rooms were immaculately clean, with comfy beds and , and we wanted for nothing. Breakfasts were very tasty and filling with all needs catered for. The B & B is situated near to Torquay harbour, about 5 mins stroll away, with all kinds of different eateries, from Indian to Thai, and Chinese to Mexican. Lots to see and do and a visit to 'The Living Coasts' is a must. Would highly recommend the Kingsholm Hotel to anyone wanting to visit this beautiful part of Devon.

Room Tip: Room 9 was a little noisy on Saturday night, but didnt stop us enjoying the Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 290960Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

From arrival to departure Carl & June , and daughter Emma , could not have done more for us as guests . Location was perfect for just a leisurely stroll to Torquay town . Accommodation was first class and exceptionally clean . Breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them . We enjoyed a relaxing drink at the bar before dining out each evening . They have only been in the hotel business since November but are already a force to be reckoned with . We would recommend to anyone . Fantastic !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickytrevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We loved this guest house. Carl & June were very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and things to do and see. The location was great with shops, bars, restaurants and the harbour all within 5 mins walk. Kingsholme was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, catering to guests every need. We had a lovely holiday and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellachambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#18 of 85 in Torquay
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#34 of 85 in Torquay
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 149 in Torquay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing