We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This was our 4th stay in the Kingsholm, and our 4th fantastic stay. A short walk from the town centre, it is in a prime position. June and Carl are excellent hosts. Lovely breakfast. This was a stay for our friend's 50th, and they went out of their way to make it special for her. Would never consider staying anywhere else on a trip to Torquay.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 - I will be asking for this one on our next visit - room 8 (I think) wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Kingsholm Hotel is well situated within a short walk to the centre of Torquay. June and Carl are welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Rooms are immaculately clean and provide free wifi. Great Breakfast in a cheery dining room. Parking is a bit of a squeeze if you drive there but once parked it's more fun to use the local buses and trains.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Panda055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

When we arrived June was there to show us to our rooms and ask if we would like a cuppa after our long drive, we gratefully accepted.Later we met Carl who gave us some good ideas of local attractions etc."Great Hosts".The rooms are very clean and to a very high standard.The guest house is only a short walking distance fron all the towns amenities,so not far away after a few drinks and a lovely meal.We would recommend staying with Carl and June,and we hope to returne in the near future.

Room Tip: We had room no4 which was on the front of the guest house and was large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The rooms were lovely and the entire hotel is spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable. June and Carl the owners could not have been more helpful. We were in a party of 9 which can sometimes take a while to check in but at Kingholm this only took a couple of minutes. The hotel could not be in a better location and is close to the town and harbour, Babbacombe Road is quite hilly and thankfully the Kingsholm is near the bottom making it easily accessible for the people in our party who use walking sticks. Breakfast was excellent (particularly the fried bread). Will recommend this hotel to anyone I know. I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeWeirdoNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

we stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time, June and Carl were great hosts, nothing is too much trouble, the room was very clean, nicely decorated and well stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water. the breakfasts are very good, the hotel is just a short 5 minute walk from the town centre and harbour. we will be definately be staying here again in the not too distant future. (thanks June, Carl and Emma for a great stay, see you soon)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

From start to finish there's nothing to fault about this hotel. Great service from great owners and excellent location. Will have no problem recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luther492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Excellent location, nice rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing