We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Spent two nights at this Hotel 5th/6th September. June & Carl took the trouble to telephone us at 10.15 on route to advise us that our room was ready if we wanted it earlier than the normal check in time of 2.30pm. They provided us with complimentary coffee on arrival. Our room was clean & comfortable. We had free parking (unusual considering how close the hotel is to the town centre) the breakfast was well cooked with a good choice. Our hosts very friendly. Will be staying here again next time in Torquay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just returned home after a weeks holiday in Torquay at the Kingsholm lovely hotel nice position really nice hosts nothing too much trouble and great breakfasts all in all a lovely place to stay and would recommend to friends and family thanks agaian June and Carl for a lovely week.

Room Tip: Rooms at front next to road but still got good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penni56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Kingsholm in april and liked it so much that we returned again in September. The rooms are really clean, bright and comfortable. Breakfast is great as there's so much choice. The Kingsholm couldn't be in a better location, close to the harbour and shops. June and Carl are so welcoming and nothing's too much trouble. Can't wait to go back at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just spent 5 days here and June & Carl are the most hospitable of hosts. Remember there are steps so be warned; no problem really but wheelchairs are are a no no.
The breakfasts are all beautifully cooked to order & the selection is great. Rooms are very comfortable & clean with plenty of storage. Hospitality tray with the usuals. If you are in a front bedroom there will be some traffic noise but it didn't prevent us from getting good nights sleep.
There are several very good & varied restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Will stay again if we are in Torquay.

Room Tip: I think the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

we had a 2 night stay which was lovely you cannot fault the hotel and carl and june are so welcoming. june your breakfast was absolutely lovely.
we will be returning as soon as we can .and will definately recommend you to friends.
we can see why you won the 2012 award !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A big thankyou to Carl & June.My wife & I, really enjoyed our visit to Torquay.
We would like to say Carl the welcome we received ,and the service and hospitality we
enjoyed could not be bettered..We would recommend KINGSHOLM HOTEL to all visitors
to Torquay.May see you again in October.Regards to you and June.

Ken&Theresa

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Just got back from a long weekend stay in this excellent hotel. The room was pristine, bottled water, tea, coffee, lots of milk, biscuits and hot chocolate all included on the hospitality tray, unlike most hotels now who give you just enough tea or coffee for one cup each per day. There was also a decent hair dryer in the wardrobe and free wifi too.
June and Carl make you feel very welcome, our bags were taken to our room, promptly followed by a lovely offer of a tea or coffee. June and Carl are very helpful in everyway, we had some excellent recommendations from them. The breakfasts are amazing....if you like a GOOD full English, you won't be disappointed.
The hotel is in an ideal location, just up the road from the town centre and Kents Cavern too!
I've stayed in several hotels in Torquay before but i can honestly say there's a reason this hotel is a 4 star hotel and its the only one I will return too.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing