We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very welcoming”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Kingsholm for a three night stay. It was within easy walking distance of the harbour and centre and had the added bonus of it's own free parking. June and Carl were fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely cooked breakfast and the hotel was very clean and inviting. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at The Kingsholm for one night and loved it. Our room (nr.8) was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable (the pillows could be a little softer) and the view from the window was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. June & Carl are very welcoming and extremely friendly. We loved every second at this grand house. Many thanks, E&P London

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaS8185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed at Kingsholm for the weekend, had a great stay. Lovely and clean, well presented accommodation with friendly host's. Although only two minutes from the harbour, shops and nightlife, I didn't need to use my earplugs to sleep (always a bonus!) Great breakfast, cooked to order. Only one problem, it wasn't long enough! Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very enjoyable stay; lovely building with spacious lounge & pleasant views from the guest room window. Easy walking distance to the harbour & delightful coastal paths.
Warm hospitality from June & Carl, with delicious, freshly cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 8 looked out over the pretty village green area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just come back from a lovely sunny bank holiday weekend in Torquay, which was enhanced by our stay at The Kingsholm. Comfortable and spotlessly clean room (room 2, beautifully decorated b.t.w) First rate facilities, fantastic breakfasts, free parking and all within a stones throw of the harbour and marina.....what more could anyone ask for?
It's a pleasure to see someone who enjoys what they do for a living - and the owners June and Carl quite clearly love running their hotel. Thank you both for wonderful hospitality. I would recommend The Kingsholm to anyone.

J & P The Midlands

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyb377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights over a bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Torquay. This hotel is very clean, comfortable and modern but has retained it's Edwardian character, much nicer than staying in a chain hotel. It is a short walk to the seafront and a wide range of restaurants/bars and parking is provided. We were looked after very well by Carl and June and the breakfasts were cooked and served to perfection. We loved our room no 4 which had a large bay window letting lots of light into the room, good quality furniture and a large shower room. All the little personal touches by Carl and June made us feel at home and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed at the Kingsholm recently and had a wonderful stay. Everything was good, local for town and restaurants. We were made to feel at home by June and Carl for the whole stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was freshly cooked for everyone and this was appreciated as there was a group of 15 of us there. Will stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing