We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent visit to The Kingsholm Hotel”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #9 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit to The Kingsholm Hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I are regular guests at The Kingsholm Hotel and our latest visit was yet another success. A very friendly welcome, complete with tea and coffee, from June. A super spacious and spotlessly clean room with excellent facilities. The breakfast menu offers a good choice of food with everything cooked to perfection. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the harbour and June and Carl are the perfect hosts. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
480
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Absolutely fabulous holiday,wonderful service and made to feel very welcome by June and Carl. . Wonderful team work by both. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Wonderful location,easy to get to town and bars. Good food in the hotel and surrounding areas. Easy to get too and most within walking distance. Plenty of choice in and around Torquay .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allthejacksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the kingsholm. We were made to feel very welcome by Carl and June. The kingsholm is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, the breakfast is superb. The only minor niggle we had was the loo in our room was rather noisy, but it definatly didn't spoil our stay and we will be returning next year so many thanks to our lovely hosts Carl and June. See you next year. Sara and Neal

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were very impressed with the Hotel and it met all our requirements the website was a true indication of what was on offer. The rooms are very modern and clean. The breakfasts cooked by June were excellent. The Hotel is in an prime position being close the the marina and there are plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from. Carl & June are excellent hosts

Room Tip: WE had a king size room to the side of the Hotel there was some traffic noise in the mornings but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booked the Kingsholm at the last minute and was not disappointed.
A very friendly welcome when we arrived and presented with a cup of tea which was greatly recieved after a long jouney.Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean.
The beakfast was excellent and we was made to feel very much at home by host Carl and June
The location is ideal for the centre of Torquay and would have no hesitation in booking again

Rob & Gill Sadler

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Friendly and welcoming hosts who could not be more helpful and willing to please mean that eveything else about this hotel is just right.
The location is superb in that whilst it is in the middle of Torquay,it is just far enough away from the hustle and noise of the town to be quiet and relaxed.
Immaculate cleanliness throughout plus a good breakfast added to the plus points.
Only minor personal wish is that the breakfast could have been say half an hour earlier but that is a personal thing.
Well done Carl and June

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob-herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a last minute get away and June and Carl made us feel very welcome and at home.
When we arrived they made us a cup of coffee which they put in the lounge / t v room. The breakfast was second to none there was plenty of it all made fresh and as much tea or coffee you want. The location is very good for exploring, with nearby buses and trains only a short walk away. Plus in the harbour you can get a boat to Brixham etc.
With plenty of places to eat that will keep everyone happy you just cant go wrong.
Very clean, comfortable and welcoming
We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing