We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday weekend”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Kingsholm with members of family to celebrate my birthday in Torquay. We were made very welcome by June and Carl who decorated my room and made a booking for us to celebrate in one of the local restaurants. A great location for the harbour and for the pub and restaurant, recommended by Carl, at the top of the hill. Breakfasts were great and we were really well looked after. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Kingsholm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We`ve just enjoyed another 5 night stay at the kingsholm. We have stayed here four times now and wouldn`t stay anywhere else in torquay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by both June and Carl, who couldn`t do enough to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The excellent high standards were maintained throughout from the cleanliness of the rooms to the nicely cooked (and plentiful) full English breakfast. We have stayed in four different rooms now ,all of which have been ample to our needs. Overall, we couldn`t fault the hotel or the hosts, and will be back again.

Room Tip: Room 4 does have a side sea view window, but we can`t fault any of the other rooms we have stayed in...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a lovely place to stay, very close to the harbour which is a 5 minute walk away. An ideal location with restaurants, cafes and bars all close by. June and Carl were very welcoming and excellent hosts. They were very helpful suggesting places to visit and giving us directions to the venue. Our rooms were spotless with lovely crisp white bedding and everywhere was nicely decorated with a lovely large lounge for anyone to sit in if they wanted to. The breakfast was excellent quality and quantity with a good variety of food. Parking was free which was brilliant as we were so close to all the amenities and able to leave the car behind and walk! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Torquay and will certainly return there if we visit again. Thank you June and Carl for making us all welcome in your home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were given a Traditional Seaside Night away as a Wedding Gift in July and decided on Torquay as our destination. Out of the Hotels and BB's on offer, the Kingsholm stood out to us. On calling and enquiring, Carl was very helpful and polite, warming us even more towards this venue. Our instinct was proved to be right, we had a lovely warm welcome into this clean, tastefully decorated, warm environment. Our room was spotless and the crisp white bed linen was a real luxury. Breakfast was relaxed and delicious, with plenty of choice. We would certainly recommend this Hotel and use again should we return to Torquay. Thank you June & Carl.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

June and Carl were excellent hosts who really went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and polite. Also their establishment is in an ideal location for getting around the harbour area of Torquay. All the bars, shops and cafes there are all within easy walking distance. It is also just round the corner from the bowling alley and museum. Parking is assured with allocated spots which are retained with a named bollard if necessary. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were substantial and of excellent quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fletcherart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wonderful place to stay very close to the town and harbour. rooms very clean .and decorated to a high standard.Carl and June very friendly hosts and breakfasts delicious. Will definitely stay here again. Free parking in their car park .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 298TracyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our first stay at the Kingsholm but I am sure it will not be our last. We arrived to a warm welcome and were shown to our rooms. Both rooms were very clean and decorated with a comfortable modern feel. The rooms were well equipped with enough space for seats, wardrobe, bedside units and a large bed. Tea and coffee facilities within the room as well. Plenty on offer at breakfast and you choice what you want, the quality of the food was excellent and it was all well cooked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#6 of 149 in Torquay
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing