We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First time in Torquay and we really enjoyed it , Great breakfast with plenty of choice, Carl was always around ready to top up the tea and coffee. Good size room with a good sized bed, mattress a little un-comfy for me but that's not the owners fault (suppose you get used to your own bed).Excellent location to the harbour & local amenities some nice bars around the quay with nice food available, took a ferry to Brixham £2 return. when we return to Torquay we would look for the Kingsholm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank leeder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights in room no4. The room was perfect spacious,clean and with a large bathroom. The whole hotel is well decorated throughout and is perfectly situated only a 5 minute walk to marina , many restaurants and bars. The owners June and Carl were very welcoming,friendly and helpful. There was a good choice for breakfast with cereals,fruit etc and a cooked breakfast with a good choice of hot food. Carl was always on hand also with a top up with coffee or tea at the breakfast table.
If we were to return to Torquay we would certainly stay in the Kingsholm again.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was no4 which was situated on the front of the hotel on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

just got back from torquay after spending five fantastic nights in the best bb ever and met two of the nicest people ever called cal and june breakfast was brilliant rooms spotless and shops on door step shall be back as soon as pos. thanks again cal and june

Room Tip: every room great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sybil935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our 4th time staying at Kingsholm and its always been a great time June @ Carl are a great couple so welcoming and the hotel is very very clean rooms are perfect. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone to stay at. We always find it faultless with a great breakfast and cooked very well. We always recieve 5 star treatment and June @ Carl are always ready to help in any way they can they make it a 1st class holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

June & Carl work very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble, even helping to carry suitcase's up the stairs to your room. The breakfast is just fantastic with plenty of variety. Not far from the Harbour. If we visit the area again it will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely b&b, Carl and June are very welcoming. Had a brilliant time.. Plenty to do in Torquay and around the town, breakfast was lovely, look after you well. Will be sure to return here, i would recommend to stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimeec134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Kingsholm Hotel is perfectly situated a short walk away from the harbour with it's restaurants and bars. The hotel is immaculate and spotlessly clean. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. June and Carl are lovely hosts and even the children ensured they were up in time for breakfast which was individually cooked to order. If we ever go back to Torquay would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#19 of 85 in Torquay
290 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#33 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#11 of 149 in Torquay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing