We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of The Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iona Torquay
Ranked #56 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Have stayed before, will stay again,home from home, great place to chill and relax,Rooms spotless,Beds comfy, breakfast ,plenty of choicecereals,fruit, or full english,sets you up for the day.Thanks and see you soon, Roy and Marita ;0)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daiduvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I, our 3 young children and our Westie puppy Holly stayed here last week for 4 nights during half term. With 3 kids and a dog, I nearly gave up searching for somewhere to stay in Torquay. I work for a large hotel chain and couldn't even get in there!! After Googling Pet friendly hotels in Torquay I found Hotel Iona. We had a lovely time. Everything was perfect, from the warm welcome from the owners and Chip the dog to the room which other families have commented on to the standard and choice at breakfast. I have worked in hotels for many years and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a very special half term break!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulChristel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundholm, Owner at The Iona Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel quite some time ago, however have just been thinking about my stay and how lovely it was which has prompted me to leave a review.

The owners made me and my partner feel extremely welcome here. As a gay couple there are some places that we stay and we are made to feel awkward or unwelcome, this is the complete opposite to Hotel Iona.

From walking in and being shown to our room, the serving of breakfast to providing us with local tourist attraction knowledge, every part of the service was made with 100% dedication to their customers.

We are both planning to go back to this Bed & Breakfast and hope that they continue to offer the outstanding service they provided us with to other fortunate guests.

Lastly, this is a pet friendly hotel and our dog got on extremely well with the resident dog Chip that always came to say hello.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have now stayed here 4 times and all we can say is how excellent the hotel is.
Roy and Marita are warm and welcoming and always have time to have a chat.
The hotel is in a quite location the rooms are very comfortable all with ensuite.
The hotel is very clean and breakfast is excellent.
You'll get a very warm welcome from Chip the dog who incidentally isn't around all the time especially when your eating.
We would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoySwindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundholm, Owner at The Iona Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you for the kind review, it is always good to see you, look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very clean & tidy, good breakfast and very large room with tv dvd player ensuite & balcony, (dont know if balcony & size applies to all rooms). Well situated in quite area but short walk for shops and restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet area of Torquay. Our room was very comfortable with a good sized ensuite and a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. There is an option for evening meal which we took. 2 courses for £12 or 3 courses for £16. We considered this to be very good value and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Overall the hotel was extremely clean and the owners were very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend the Hotel Iona.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balisala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just returned home form this lovely hotel.Such a lovely experience,we stayed 4 nights,and enjoyed every day, and were reluctant to leave, we have used Many hotels in Torquay,many times, this one out does the others.The owners really care about there customers rooms very very good,NOTHING was too much trouble, food excellent,the family and Chips (dog) were well behaved,polite and really lovely,we will return asap,also will recommend to our own family and friends, would have no hesitation sending any one there.
Excellent ALL round.

Room Tip: Premier room excellent other rooms were very good also (comments of others)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieStonehouseglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 86 in Torquay
546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 86 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 86 in Torquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,468 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 86 in Torquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Torquay

Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay's main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing