We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”
Review of The Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iona Torquay
Ranked #57 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Perfect for us with one dog. The room with the terrace was terrific for the dog to lay and enjoy the sunshine, Access was direct from the room. Clean, Very well presented and friendly staff. They had skills to deal with the most rude guests. I could never have bitten my tongue with attention seeking people, a true skill. No matter who they were talking to, they were made to feel important and respected. Breakfasts were accommodating, one being vegetarian, and the dog was made to feel welcome by them setting up a table out of the way of the other guests during the meal. So pleased that the Iona is NOT on the strip so the rooms were peaceful and relaxing. Anything you want is only 5 to 10 minutes down the road. Fantastic. We are so looking forward to staying with them again next summer. See you soon

Mark, Martin and of course Lilly (the dog)

Room Tip: The Premier Balcony Double Bedroom certainly is for us.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanook1to1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for The Iona Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at hotel Iona for just over a week with our 3 dogs. The room and en-suite bathroom was a very nice size. Very clean and comfortable. There were plenty of choices at breakfast and it was all very delicious and set you up for the morning.
Roy and Marita (and their sweet little dog Chip) were very welcoming and very helpful.
We can highly recommend Hotel Iona. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mette7406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a great little place this is, my parents where staying for a week so I decided to surprise them, the 2 owners where great in helping set this up. My room was huge, clean & very well presented. The breakfast both morning where perfection.
Just FYI this is a great B&B/guest house not a hotel in my opinion, please don't go expecting a hotel & everything that goes with a hotel.
Would certainly stay again & recommend to friends.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank fathead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in september, staying in their superior room, and we enjoyed our stay. the room was nice and plenty of room, the bathroom was a nice size, although we found the shower a little cramped, but still able to have a nice hot shower. the breakfasts were nice, particularly enjoyed the fruit salad, and even though they have a menu, are very flexible in what you can have. its about a 10-15 minute walk to the seafront and town centre, though there is a bus stop 5 minutes up the road. it's difficult to fully judge as we normally stop in hotels as opposed to b&b's but we found it good value for money and would certainly stop again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A seven day family holiday for three in August, B&B. It was Very friendly especially the dog Chip. There were Very tasty breakfasts, especially the fresh fruit salad, and the rooms were very comfortable and well decorated and furnished. I would recommend it to anyone.
Gwynneth

Room Tip: ask for superior double
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwynneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely 3 night break at the hotel Iona with our 2 small dogs in August. Marita was very friendly from the point she greeted us at the front door.
The room we had was at the front of the hotel and had a balcony. Lovely high ceilings, tv, fridge, coffee making facilities and was very clean and tidy. Breakfast hosted a good variety on the menu and my wife said the poached eggs were cooked to perfection. Very lovely hotel and very friendly owners. Looking at most of the hotels on grosvenor road run down this really is a hidden gem in Torquay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a seven night stay DBB with my parents and Freddie, our 2 year old westie. Everything about this hotel was perfect we were all made so welcome including Freddie who had a lovely time meeting Chip. The food was excellent, a wide range at breakfast, choice of evening meal excellent also a good range of vegetarian meals (even though we are not vegetarian we did order off veggie menu) and all prepared fresh. The cleanliness all round hotel excellent.

Roy and Marita were friendly, helpful and all round excellent hosts and the times we saw their children they were always polite and respectful.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, hopefully one day we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#56 of 149 in Torquay
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Torquay

Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay's main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing