We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - Mr & Mrs Johnson”
Review of The Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iona Torquay
Ranked #53 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - Mr & Mrs Johnson”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at Hotel Iona from 1/6/14 until 8/6/14, we enjoyed a lovely holiday & were made very welcome by the owners. Our room was spacious & spotlessly clean & opened out onto a lovely balcony/terrace. The shower in the bathroom was excellent & toiletries were provided. Our bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen to ensure every comfort. We had a mini fridge, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, flat screen television, tea/coffee/biscuits etc & fresh milk replenished daily. We decided to have all our evening meals at the hotel & were not disappointed with either the quality or choice offered. We would definately recommend the hotel to our friends & will be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms offer extra space, we stayed in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    51
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
170
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cross Hands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Situated out of the Town (hustle and Bustle) in a quiet area alongside other nice looking detached Guest Houses / Hotels. Nice cooked Breakfast. Lovely room with direct access to its Balcony with seating area. Would stay again.

Room Tip: A good walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful clean hotel, within short walking distance of the seafront, harbour and town. Well located in quiet area of Torquay with shops round the corner. Excellent places to eat locally or in town with huge variety of menus

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were meeting friends in Torquay and this was the hotel that was recommended.
The Hotel Iona is a lovely Victorian building, which has been renovated to a high standard throughout.
Our room was large and beautifully furnished with an on suite bathroom to match. All our needs were met in our room, from tea/coffee/fridge facilities to hairdryer and ironing board. Downstairs the breakfast/dining room is a bright and airy conservatory leading down a couple of steps to the bar area.
After a very comfortable sleep we had the full English breakfast, which was excellent and set us up for the day. The hotel itself is only a 5 min walk to the sea and 10 mins to the harbor with its lovely cafes and bars. If you don’t feel up to going into town, the Hotel Iona prepares wonderful evening meals and the hosts are happy to cater for off menu requests, if possible.
On the whole, a little gem of a hotel, with warm and friendly staff and entertaining hosts. We will definitely be back. Missing you already, Roy and Marita!

Miles M

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife & I booked just one night at this place as we wanted to get away for the weekend. The web site looked good with reasonable prices so i went for it. We were welcomed as we arrived shown to our room and the place looks as good as the web site shows it to be. We work in the hotel industry so sometimes get a bit picky, but this place is very well maintained spotlessly clean & I think family run so each person serving you seems interested in your stay being a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had a great time in Torquay and the hotel made it even better. Clean and tidy and very relaxed. Very nice room and the breakfasts were very tasty. Good range. Going back in August for a long weekend and can't wait. Thanks Marita and Roy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely hotel located close to the beach, we walked into a nice warm welcome in recepition, the rooms where very clean with great facilities, myself and my partner had a really perfect nights sleep in the bed, which is unusual for me. For breakfast was a selection of ceareals, fruit, or cooked breakfast. All in all we really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve419a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Torquay

Property: The Iona Torquay
Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay's main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing