We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unnerving and weird”
Review of Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairways
Ranked #133 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unnerving and weird”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have used Fairways a lot in the past for staying in Torquay to visit friends.... but this time was different..... and scary....

We havent seen our friends for just over a year so we arranged to go meet up again so we rang and reserved a room

We booked in and travelled down and when we arrived we noticed that all the signs stated 'no vacancies' which we were both really pleased we managed to get a room as it was looking busy we were duly shown to our room after having to choose breakfast off the menu.
The room itself was clean and tidy but had a strange feeling about the place.. just after 10 minutes of being there we had a knock at the door by the owner who asked us to pay for the room there and then and we got onto the conversation of where we lived which he deemed as being posh and he then went onto say he thought that Torquay was 'Chavvy'... nice way to advertise the local people .. and then went on to say that the previous owners were trying to constantly win AA accreditation a and local council awards which he deemed to be 'too much like hard wor' .. after we closed the room door it still felt like we were being watched in an untrustworthy almost perverted kind of way.............. then it soon dawned on us that we were the only couple there which made us very uncomfortable and the fact that the owner who we hadn't even met us before in our lives said that he recognised our surname.... Being a young couple we felt that was a bit odd and slightly strange .

We went out and met our friends for the evening and returned to the B&B and the second we pulled up it felt like we were once again being watched..which felt creepy and uncomfortable .. so we sat in the car for a moment and sure enough the owner appeared at the entrance door staring at us, he then brought something out to the bin and proceeded to walk back to the door whilst constantly looking back .... and then turned around and then started to walk towards our car, he quickly realised I was on my phone, turned around a walked off slowly whilst still looking back at us

it was at that was the point that my wife made it clear that she wasn't happy to stay there and described as being like the 'Bates Motel' and she was beginning to feel quiet sick from the stress of thought of spending the night there so we quickly rang around and booked ourselves into a Travel lodge in Paignton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank badlyburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    11
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
105
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. Owner was very friendly with good local knowledge. We were the only ones there at the time so nice and quiet. Paid to have the breakfast, which was lovely.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at Fairways. We were made to feel very welcome and Chris was incredibly accomodating. Fairways was just a short walk away from the town centre, and we found a row of shops just 2 mins down the road. We would recommend avoiding the steak house just down the road (we wsited 45mins for a table for 2, whilst looking at 3 empty tables-it was frustrating to say the least!) We didn't try the food as the wait became unbearable. Our stay at Fairways was fantastic and very comfortable. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here one night having been to a wedding, very comfortable bed and everything you could need in the room. Walked into town in 5 mins. Owners were lovely and friendly and let us park in their car park for as long as we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenTNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Chris (owner) was very friendly and helpful, room was very very clean not a spec of dust or any grime. Bed was comfortable and clean. Room was warm enough for my fiance after adjusting the thermostat (and she is hard to satisfy when it comes to room temperature). Never stayed in a family run bed and breakfast we normally go for the bigger corporate run one's. WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN FOR DEFINITELY 10 OUT OF 10. Hopefully see the fairways agsin soon :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thatmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived to Fairways to be warmly greeted. There was no fuss, we were shown straight to our room and all room facilities were explained.

Room was a reasonable size, light and airy. Spotlessly clean throughout. Towels were lovely and big and shower fine. Bed was really comfortable, lovely to have a duvet instead of sheets!

Continental breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and service fantastic. We were brought warm crossiants and offered eggs etc. Felt like I was sitting in someone's home dining room as opposed to someone's business. Totally relaxed atmosphere - really made the stay.

I would thoroughly recommend Fairways, will certainly be staying again if I'm in Torquay. Great value for money. Thanks!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here with my elderly father overnight. The owners were really lovely and tolerant of an elderly person. They went and organised a gluten free breakfast for me and the room was immaculate. The Hotel has a five star rating for hygiene, which I found very reassuring, working in this area. Great location, on a main road if that bothers people sleeping at the front but very happy with the place. Preferred the continental breakfast over he more pedstrian full English provided in many other B&B's.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back where it was absolutely silent if you want no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seabirdifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#103 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#100 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways

Property: Fairways
Address: 72 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing