We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay when visiting Torquay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parks Guest Accommodation
Ranked #18 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay when visiting Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently stayed at the parks and could not have stayed at better accommodation.On arrival Tim showed us to room 1, a spacious well laid out room very clean ,with a large bed ,settee and rocking chair. Tim went through everything , showing us the wardrobes,tv,en-suite ect. before leaving us Tim informed us about local transport and gave us an idea about local attractions.
The breakfasts were lovely with so much choice ,the full english breakfast was superb and set you up for the day.
Overall the Parks is great place to stay in Torquay out from the center with parkland surroundings so quiet and peaceful at night but only a few minutes away from the center and all its attractions.
If ever in Torquay again The Parks would be be my first choice for accommodation.
Fraser

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fraser m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
144
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely place to stay, stayed here from 2nd-5th September 2013. Right from first arriving Tim was very welcoming and took time to explain everything in the room. The room was very clean, comfy big beds and en-suite was really good. Breakfast was huge and included such a wide variety of cereals, breads, yoghurt and juices and a huge cooked breakfast.
Great location for walking into Torquay and accessing all the sites surrounding Torquay so was a great base for our week away. In all a very friendly, comfortable stay in a lovely family run b&b which was definitely value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Tim was very attentive, from the moment we arrived to the morning we left, Always available for help and advise but not intrusive.
Lovely rooms, very comfortable settee for relaxing, super huge bed!
Breakfast was vast...... so much to choose from.... fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit yoghurts PLUS full English...... oh yes and an assortment of breads for toasting and an array of Teas and a big pot of freshly made filter coffee......
Lovely swimming pool in the garden and a nice pic-nic table to the front of the building (where my husband could be found having a crafty ciggy with other residents staying).
Will certainly return.....

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms had lovely big bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute for short break with teenage children. Excellent email communication asking for likely arrival time and confirming room configurations. Both rooms where nicely decorated and comfy. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast very good with choice of fruit, yoghurt, and varied bread for toasting. Cooked breakfast nicely done with minor daily variations. The owners were attentive and friendly throughout our stay. We left some minor clothing by accident and then emailed offering to post back. The Parks is ideally located only 5 mins walk from train station and not much further to see front. Only negative point from our point of view was limited time window for breakfast. We would have liked to have breakfasted earlier on a couple of days. In short, highly recommended. We would have no hesitation returning again soon

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Westiepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms was clean tidy. Breakfast was ok not as good as I thought it was going to be. Sausage was not the best could do with more beans not just about 10 beans and offering waffle for breakfast sounds awful. If you supply ash trays out side please empty daily as it looked like they had never been emptyed. Garden needs alot of work to tidy it up. Swimming pool just forget its there you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksGuest, Owner at The Parks Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks for the review,

With regard to the breakfast - you could have asked for more !

The garden is blitzed in spring and autumn as you can surely appreciate we are busy in the summer. The car park also gets swept regularly but we can not clear blown leaves on a daily basis.

As for smoking , we take your point about the ashtrays and we will now not allow smoking on the premises - problem solved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Park for three nights, arriving around 1 pm. We wanted to just leave the car and go for a walk as we knew we were too early to check in. However, Tim insisted that our room would be ready in 5 mins if we waited. The room we were allocated was fab, exceptionally clean and bright. The bed extremely comfortable and felt like home from home. We have stayed in many hotels and the Hilton breakfasts are usually extremely good but the Parks breakfast is superb. You can choose items individually or go for the full English. Everything is cooked to order not left on display on a hot plate. We have never seem so many choices of cereal.

There is a heated outdoor pool with sun loungers and a large umbrella and the garden area is a real sun trap.

Tim is a great host and is always in the bar in the evenings. Has a well stocked bar with a good choice of bottled beers.

Location is great for walking down to the beach (10 mins) or visiting Torre Abbey which is literally around the corner.

There is a great pub just up the road called Ocean Drive which is a theme pub. food is great, not the cheapest, but worth a visit to see all the memorabilia from the cinema and music world.

We will definitely return to this great find in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia_knapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights 17-19th July and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the front garden and was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. Tim met us when we arrived, showed us to our room and explained everything to us and made us feel very welcome and at home. There is a well stocked bar in the lounge where we had a drink before going out one night. The breakfast was brilliant with plenty of choice from cereal, toast, fruit etc to a full English which was delicious and set in a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather when we stayed here which was a bonus. The Parks is close to the far end of the beach which is nice and quiet and there is about a 10-15 minute walk to the main part of the town. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants to eat at in town and has plenty to offer for all ages. We loved it here and will definitely be returning. Thank you Tim and Sarah.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#12 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parks Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parks Guest Accommodation

Property: The Parks Guest Accommodation
Address: Rathmore Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parks Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run non-smoking guest house situated next to parkland, in the heart of the English Riviera, 500 metres back from the sea-front. Within a 300 metre level walk of both Torquay Train Station & The English Riviera Conference Centre. Benefits from: Ample parking, all rooms en-suite (many family size), outdoor heated swimming pool, pet friendly, disabled access, 2 minute walk from Torre Abbey & Gardens, 10 minute scenic walk away from the Marina & Torquay town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Parks Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parks Guest Accommodation Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing