We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Pepper”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashfield Guest House
Ranked #97 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Black Pepper”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Ashfield's , Breakfast was great plenty of it and it was in pleasant dining room. The bedroom was clean and tidy and tea and coffee tray included, Ann and Chris were great hosts and offered local information on were to eat and places to go.
We will be back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed at the Ashfield for 7 nights
it was lovely to be looked after the way we were. our rooms were spotless and well serviced every day loads of different teas & coffees and fresh towels
the breakfast was lovely and hot with black pudding !! we didn't have to eat again until evening
Chris gave us a map that was very helpful and loads of information about where to eat and where was doing deals with food we had a great laugh in the dining room every day as everybody was friendly and Chris and Ann came and joined us for a coffee and a chat every morning .took great interest in what we did and were planning to do gave us fab tips will we go back ? sure will maby not next year but we will definately stay here when we do...... and Candy oh what a cute sweet little doggie wouldn't even know she was there thanks Chris & Ann kisses for Candy as sweet as

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumbob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porth rct united kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

ann and chris are absolutely superb hosts. fantastic location central to everything ie beach,harbour,shops. anns breakfast is the best i have tasted anywhere and would go back anytime. clean rooms superb facilities. thanks ann and chris for everything.xxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabby1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary
we had never been to Torquay before Ann gave all the information we could possibly want even booked resturants for us . the room was fantastic large groung floor soft lighting and warm and cosy had the heating on when we got back as it was a cold and damp day
we have stayed in Guest House Before and not had very good results but we looked on Trip adviser and because of the reviews we decided to book here the Breakfast is lovely ,hot and loads of it infact too much .they are lovely people who genuinely love what they are doing helpfull . happy a fantastic atmosphere here from the moment you arrive
having to park arount the back is the only down side but we found pleanty of room on the road . we have rebooked for next year already and look forward to it already
good luck to them both oh and Candy is just georgous (puppy)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Spent just a weekend here but wished that we could have stayed longer. as commented by other visitors from the moment we arrived chris and ann gave us the warmest of welcomes! The room was lovely and was spotless! Ann gave us lots of useful information a great ambassador for torquay! we would not hesitate in recommending them to future holidaymakers to torquay,

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank weddinganniversary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Bright and airey, very comfortable, brilliant hosts Ann and Chris............ Superb breakfast........... fantastic value for money..... will definately be visiting again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We stayed here two nights. After visiting a b&b in Blackpool, which wasn't very nice, i was quite worried about staying here.

I was very wrong. The owners were very friendly and always willing to help with directions.

Rooms were spotless and specious. Breakfast was very good too and was made earlier than normal on our final day.

  • Liked — The clenliness
  • Disliked — none!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lawnswood Guest House
The Lawnswood Guest House
#89 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#66 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Guest House

Property: Ashfield Guest House
Address: 9 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable well decorated Guest House in the heart of the English Riviera close to all amenities & conference center beach 5 minutes walk free guest parking all rooms en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing