We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They really have thought of everything !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They really have thought of everything !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

So glad we stayed for 6 nights. We stayed in room 6 and it was spacious and thoughtfully designed as well as spotless. There were lots of hooks and shelves in the shower room and quality toiletries were provided.
Breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and perfect - especially Lynda's strawberry pancakes !
Fresh fruit salad and ground coffee for starters were perfect for me, although there were plenty of other options.
John and Lynda are very friendly and helpful, attentive, but not intrusive and really - Perfect hosts !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leenv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
244
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked this hotel due to the glowing reviews that we read on here. We weren't disappointed! The room was comfy and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were very friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend The Crown Lodge Hotel and would not hesitate to stay here next time we are in Torquay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thermexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

we stayed at this hotel for one night only and found it very clean and welcoming . we had the lg room on the ground floor at the front of property loved the room , only draw back was at time was road noise, breakfast very good staff very helpful would go back but poss try another room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgammg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to crown lodge hotel yet again not dissapointed ,John and Linda are very friendly and helpful room was really nice everything you need comfortable clean and a good nights sleep ,breakfast is the best I've ever had good choice of everything ,we stopped three nights in room 5 and will be back in future thanks again john and Linda you really know how to run a B&B thanks Tim and Kaz room 5

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I don't usually wore a review but have gone out of my way to specially do this on this occasion. Both me and my wife were extremely impressed with the hospitality from John and Linda. Food was great; a great vege option. Location is good and close to the beach / shops And restaurant. We were particularly impressed with hygiene standard both the room and bathroom extremely clean. We thoroughly recommend crown lodge to all! Many thanks john and Linda.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shezer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Crown Lodge and wished it could have been longer. Spotlessly clean cosy rooms. We were also lucky to have a spacious en suite shower room. The two owners, John and Lynda were perfect hosts. John welcomed us with a brief tour of the room and hotel and then put us right with recommendations for venues to eat. He even booked our table at the Bombay Express on our first evening and we received a 10% discount - meal was excellent. It was our wedding anniversary during our stay and we received a card from them both which was just a further show of their genuine kindness and eagerness to ensure their guests enjoyed their stay. The breakfast was wonderful - far better than in some larger hotels we have stayed in. I loved the bowl of freshly prepared fruit with a choice of yoghurt and cereals followed by a wide choice of breakfast which should suit everyone!. The 'Traditional' full English was superb and excellently presented. Nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks to both John and Lynda for a most enjoyable stay. We would highly recommend your Guest House and would certainly visit again next time we are in Torquay.

Room Tip: Handy Bus Stop nearby for the town centre, Brixham etc. Pubs and Bombay Express Rstaurant also with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claudinas215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very clean rooms, complete with DVD player and ipod dock. Fridge also in the room with bottled water in. Enjoyed the biscuits at night!
Brilliant breakfast! Set us up for the day! We just spent our 3 days around Torquay and enjoyed it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keviniho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
16.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#24 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#30 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#33 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bed and Breakfast Bed and Breakfast 83 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Silver Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Patricia have recently been awarded this silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing