We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to beat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hard to beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Crown Lodge for 4 nights in July. Our room (Room 6) was lovely. Well decorated, well maintained and spotlessly clean. As other reviewers have said, the attention to detail is very good.
The owners of the hotel are very nice people, and are a wealth of useful information. They are always available if needed, but are not at all intrusive.
The breakfast was a work of art! it was perfectly cooked and presented every morning. We can wholeheartedly recommend a stay here, as we will do if we return again to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airportmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
244
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The owners of this b&b were friendly and welcoming and the room was comfortable, fresh and nicely decorated. Busy road outside, but that can't be helped. Nice touches with mints in a little ceramic pot by the bed which I thought was sweet. I didn't have breakfast on the 2 nights we stayed, but my partner did and he said it was tasty and filling. Overall nice little b&b in a lovley seaside town :-) good value too - Nikkita & Allan - Northamptonshire

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kita91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was spotless and the little extra touches, like a pot of mints, tissues and toiletries, as well as a mini fridge made it feel extra special. John and Lynda were great hosts, always welcoming at breakfast time, and very informative about the local area. There was a wide choice of breakfast items from a full English, to yogurts, cheese, cereals and croissants.
The location is excellent, it's a pleasant walk down to the seafront, and the Torre train station and bus stops are a couple of minutes away. Use the Hop 12 bus and a day-rider ticket to go to Torquay, Paignton and Brixham, all really nice places to visit.
Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main road so there is a fair amount of traffic, however the double-glazing keeps the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tauceti1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself and my elderly mum, stayed in John & Lynda's charming Guest House at the end of June for 4 days, they're a lovely couple, perfect hosts, they work so hard, but nothing is too much trouble. We found the access facilities for the less able so helpful, with dedicated disabled parking, ramps to the front entrance, and a down stairs room with a wet room (very tastefully furnished & decorated!), it really made our stay very comfortable. The breakfast was great, with a fantastic choice, and most evenings we had our main meal at the Guest House, Lynda really is a superb cook, we enjoyed every single meal. There's so much to do in and around Torquay, we ran out of days, to do it all! We would thoroughly recommend The Crown Lodge, and would not consider staying anywhere else - Thank you John & Lynda :).

Room Tip: Room 1 has twin beds & Wet Room, there is another ground floor room with full disabled facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindyourpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

A big thanks to John and Lynda for making our three day stay so enjoyable. They were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was excellent and offered a number of choices. The room we booked was designed for a disabled person in mind and the adjustable bed and wet room made life so much easier for my wife. They even conjured up three days of glorious sunshine. We thoroughly recommend the Crown Lodge to any potential guest.

Room Tip: Room 2 is great for a disabled person or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just the one night away and we found a gem. Parking on site, good price, well kept rooms with all the little extra touches, very comfy bed, good shower, perfectly clean everywhere and great breakfast. Only a short walk to the seafront on level ground, lots to do and the weather stayed dry too.
Would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I would iimagine that as the place is so well looked after that all rooms would be as excellent as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry1967186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The owners are very nice and welcoming. The accommodation is a short walk to Torquay town center and has on site parking facilities. The Crown Lodge is perfect for a short or long term stay, very clean and comfortable. We will be returning and enjoyed our stay, by the way breakfast was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody123186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
16.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#24 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#30 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#33 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bed and Breakfast Bed and Breakfast 83 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Silver Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Patricia have recently been awarded this silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing