We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality B&B”
Review of South View

South View
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South View
Ranked #66 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality B&B”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I stayed here 2 nights on business. Most of the guests were middle aged couples on holiday. The house is lovely, in a reasonably quiet street quite near the centre of Torquay. I didn't have to use the rear car park for the hotel as there was on street parking both days. The room was a good size and well furnished, the en suite shower room small but well equipped and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good, and the owners friendly without being too in your face. The faults were all fairly minor ones: mattress a bit thin and hard (though I still slept well enough), sausages at breakfast of the cash-and-carry variety, plastic packs of jam instead of a decent jar with some fruit in it. The room perhaps needed some decoration or picture to give it a little bit of personality. I heard a couple talking at breakfast about the noise of coaches in the early morning at the hotel opposite, and one did indeed wake me at about 5.30.

I paid £50 for a double room with single occupancy, which struck me as just a tad on the high side, though not enough to make me feel hard done by. A few little extras over and above the call of duty (see above) would have made that feel like a very good deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adfbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Stayed in room 3 for one night and it was almost exactly what we were looking for. It was a decent size, very clean, had a good breakfast, and decent parking. The only thing was that it did not have have wifi. Our host, Chris, was lovely and made sure we knew all the things we needed to know about the place. For 50 pounds, we thought it was a great stay and would certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarry Bank
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Fantastic hotel. The rooms were spotless with a fridge. Food was excellent both breakfast and evening meal, and Bill and Chris were very friendly and helpful. Good location to the town centre as it's only a 10-15 min walk in. I would definately stay here again if I visit Torquay.

  • Liked — Good food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2008

this hotel is small and very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and spotless.
the food is excellent and there is a large choice on the menu. All the food is prepared freshand home cooked and the portions are very generous, they also provide special requests. This hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereford123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Stayed at this wonderfull B&B in february the owners Bill and Chris are a great pair good for a laugh and fantastic at making you feel at home. I had one of the rooms at the front of the hotel which was light bright and airy and surprisingly had very little traffic noise. All the usuall items you need in a room are there also with the added bonus of a very handy fridge. Very tastefully decorated throughout i felt wonderfully realxed during my stay. The breakfast was beautifully cooked thumbs up Bill, The guys also offer a great range of evening meals although i didnt get to sample them as we were meeting up with friends. If your staying in torquay this is the place to head too.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, great breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeilMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#47 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#52 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#51 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View

Property: South View
Address: 12 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — South View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your South View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing