We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we couldn't leave”
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Torquay was a favourite holiday destination for me, when i was a child. So i brought my family here for a short break. We planned a 2night stay in Torquay, and booked in the Southbank, where Marie and Ian welcomed us like long lost family. Their two children were superstars, and they treated our own three like VIPs. On a practical level, the family suite is modern, clean and airy, and perfectly suited to providing a hotel experience, while giving us the comforts of home, yet still affording us space and privacy when needed. Above all it is excellent value for the five of us. The quality and value was so good that we couldn't drag ourselves away. So we decided to stay on for an extra night (at least!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Southbank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel over the christmas period. The location of the hotel was fantastic with it being only a 5 minute walk to the beach. The hotel itself and the facilities were absolutley outstandinding as were the hosts Ian and Marie. Could not have asked for more, everything was perfect and will definately be visiting again. Thanks for making our stay unforgettable. Gill and Paul from Manchester.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the 4-bed suite (room 3) to the side and rear of the hotel (a double in one room, 2 singles in another and an en suite bathroom) and had a great time. As everyone else has said, the service is excellent, the food is delicious and plentiful, the decor is modern and light, and our rooms were well equipped. We will definitely stay with Ian and Marie again next time we're in town.

We had a beautiful sunny day doing the 'round robin' - by bus (number 100) from the Strand to Totnes, boat to Dartmouth (with a very entertaining and informative commentary from Richie), a quick hop across the river by passenger ferry to Kingswear, a relaxing steam train ride back to Paignton, and then by bus back to Torquay.

And the Riviera Centre pool, just a short stroll from the hotel, was great too, with wave machine and flume - the children would have stayed all night if they could!

On our way home we tried the Babbacombe cliff railway, a few minutes drive away, which was also a great experience. Delicious (and huge) ice cream cones at the top cafe rounded off a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bath_four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

one of the best b+b we have stayed in .clean modern room,flat screen TV,power shower ,good location and a great home-made breakfast with non obtrusive owners what more do you need!! simply the best

Room Tip: we stated in room 1. no complaints
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasgow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My wife and I have visited Torquay for many years and consequently stayed at many of the different hotels and guest houses. The Southbank has got to be the best if you are looking for a comfortable relaxing time. The breakfast fast really good, the room was well decorated and presented and the proprietors Ian and Marie were very welcoming. We spent our evenings in the bar and met some really nice people and enjoyed good conversation. We firmly believe that we have at last found the right place for us and will certainly be returning at some point next year if not before. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevincleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for five nights & could have stayed for ten, it was so friendly & clean.

Ian & his family made us feel welcome at all times. Nothing was to much trouble for him no matter how busy he was.

Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed for a week with two young children, one under two. The owners Ian and Marie couldn't do enough to please us. Even taking the ladders off the bunk bed when we discovered my one year could climb it! The breakfast's were first rate with many options you don't normally get. This hotel might be in Torquay, but it's nothing like Faulty Towers. If you have any issues they will try to sort it out. We ate dinner in their bar most nights, and the food was of very good quality and locally sourced when possible.
We will definitely be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhibberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#23 of 87 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing