We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family holiday in August 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great family holiday in August 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the first week of August and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. All needs were catered for during our stay and nothing was to much trouble for the owners Ian and Marie who also gave good advice on local attractions and directions to them. Breakfasts were outstanding and the choice was second to none. Location of the hotel is perfect for the center of Torquay. Hotel is very welcoming and would recommend it to anyone who needed somewhere to stay in Torquay. The kids loved Sybil the dog who nearly got packed into the suitcase when we left. We had a great time and hope to be back there in the near future. Thankyou Ian and Marie for a lovely stay. All the best The Hallam family

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
60
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We recently had a very nice stay at this pleasant and very reasonably priced hotel. First of all, the service was really good - the owners were extremely nice and helpful, they seemed genuinely interested in making our stay in Torquay nice.
The breakfast was very good and solid with a lot to choose between. It was never a problem to get soy milk or gluten free alternatives, which meant a lot to us and made our stay much easier.
The hotel itself is located very central for those who like Torquay.
Our room was very comfortable due to the price, but the bathroom we had does not belong in a four star hotel. The shower was especially annoying as it was so difficult to regulate.
The traffic noise from the street outside did not bother us that much, but some might be disturbed by that during the night.
However, we had a lovely experience because of the excellent service and welcoming atmosphere!

Room Tip: The traffic noise in the room facing the street can be quite disturbing during a warm July night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theVIPfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Once again another perfect week being thoroughly spoilt in this family run hotel. nothing to much trouble and all guest known by name instantly. Nothing is to much trouble for Ian and Marie and with one of her breakfast to set you up for the dayit is an ideal holiday

Room Tip: Judge for yourself. there are stairs but a helping hand is always close by to carry your luggage . t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggirlsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at South Bank for 5 nights from the 9th July 2013. The weather was hot and glorious and we asked for a mini fridge and fan (supplied at no additional cost) For our superior double bedroom. The standard of cleanliness was very high and the ambience warm and welcoming. The owners (Ian and Marie) were attentive without being over engaging and the hotel had a Vettriano theme with many stunning prints The breakfast was of a very good standard. We normally stay in hotels with gyms etc but this positive experience has changed our minds. We will return and recommend South Bank to any friends (or readers of TripAdvisor).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmandShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Southbank for 1 week and found the owners to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and well decorated with very comfortable beds but a full length mirror would have been appreciated. The breakfasts were delicious, we would stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Southbank Hotel it would be hard to find a single fault
with the experience of our 3 day stay. i never asked Ian how long he had been an hotel owner but and his wife as got it just right, the room was clean the shower was powerful, with plenty of toiletry's, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast excellent, and every guest had a own table with
the room number, that to me is unique, our room was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: We had a superior room I always think it is well worth the extra to make your stay the best possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADO38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at this lovely hotel,Ian and Marie make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them.We stayed in room ten which was lovely but as it was at the front of the hotel we had to close the windows to block out the sound of the traffic,but don't let this put you off as the rooms are lovely and clean and the beds are really comfortable.The breakfasts are great home cooked by Marie.If you choose this hotel you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ashwood Grange Hotel
#60 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Property: Southbank Hotel
Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing