We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Have just got back from few days away. Stayed at Southbank - What a lovely hotel and wonderful hosts!
Room (1) lovely large King size, room very clean and well presented! Soft fluffy towels and dressing gowns and complimentary toiletries. Will look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review, We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Kind regards Marie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
60
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a two night break with our 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 8. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had 2 flat screen tvs which pleased the grandkids no end. Lovely fluffy towels and crisp cotton bedlinen. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a little fridge for your own snacks and drinks if required. The breakfast was excellent, a great choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals and a tasty full english or continental choice all served by the owner of this great little family run hotel . The hotel is in a superb location a short walk from many of Torquays attractions. Would definitely recommend for a chilled out break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmpcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review, We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future. Kind regards Marie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just returned from a short 2 night Stay.... Very nice room ( Room 1 ) with a massive Super King Size Bed.. Breakfasts were great and the attention to service was first class. A nice positioned hotel which was a short walk to the Beachfront. Happy to recommend for anyone wanting somewhere nice for a reasonable price !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swadlincoteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Southbank in the future. Kind regards Marie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A superb hotel. The hotel was extremely clean and well presented. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities were available and extra supplies were readily accessible. Soft fluffy towels were plentiful in the bathroom. Complimentary toiletries were at hand. The Full English Breakfast was tasty along with a varied choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts. The bar meals were delicious with plenty of options obtainable.

My Father-in-law has mobility issues and could not make it down the stairs to the dining room to eat his meals. However, the owners very kindly arranged for us to have our meals in the bar area, which was on the same level as our bedrooms. The owners were very obliging and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is in an excellent location. A 10 minute stroll (downhill) to the seafront/harbour area and theatre. A 15 minute stroll to the shops in the town centre.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySmile_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at Southbank, room was spotless with everything we needed and bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice, bar meal was superb, best steak I've had. Great location well situated for shops and sea front. Owners Ian and Marie were very friendly and sociable, we viewed a few of the rooms and all were decorated to a very high standard and very smart, clean and fresh looking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

after finding this hotel on the internet we booked, and did not regret it, rooms very spacious clean and tidy every think you wanted,breakfasts were excellent, all that any body could ask for only 10 minutes from the sea front, good central location for people who are traveling around see you soon ian and mari

Room Tip: room 10 very big superior room on floor 1, room 9 same on the back quieter room floor 1, room 6 nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burman90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Normanton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

stayed at south bank in july this year had such a warm welcome returned again in September nothing to much troble for Ian and Marie rooms spotless great breakfast recommended it to my sister her and partner are going in November thank you again Ian and Marie will return again next year jack and Anne pirdue Derbyshire

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ashwood Grange Hotel
#60 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Property: Southbank Hotel
Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing