We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southbank Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
South View(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belmont(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
132
20
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
20
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbelgrave roadextra suppliesfamily roomtidy roomten minute walkselection of cerealstown centreflights of stairstravel cotyogurtbeds were comfortablea lovely stayplenty of choiceground floorsingle roomfull english breakfastfriendly owners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed here with my husband and had a very pleasant stay, the rooms are immaculate and the beds are the best I have slept in when away from home, the couple who run it are very sociable and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms have some lovely extra's such as Fruit tea's, bottled water and chocolate drinks. The breakfast is very well presented and very tasty, there is a lot to choose from and caters for every taste. The hotel is on a main road and only a 15 min walk from the beach, you can also catch the Torquay Road train from just across the road, and if you are interested in going to see Greenway, the home of Agatha Christie, the vintage bus that you can use stops right outside the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend you to consider this hotel when thinking of staying in Torquay

Room Tip: rooms at the front tend to have noise from the street
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Ian & Marie - the proprietors of The Southbank Hotel, are the best thing about the place.
But in this day & age - there has to me more on offer than a friendly face.
This Hotel displays 4 stars on its website and board, but is nearer 2 star IMO.
The breakfasts were 4 star though!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for you review, We are sorry you did not enjoy your 3 night stay in our establishment for the UKIP conference in March. We have been here for 11 years, and have been refurbishing and upgrading all our rooms to a high standard. We are sorry you thought we were only a 2 Star accommodation but I can assure you if you had stayed in a 2 star guest accommodation/B&B you would not have had the quality that we offer. Its a shame you were not able to address us with your grievances whilst you were staying, other members of your group had written in our guest book, how much they enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Have just got back from few days away. Stayed at Southbank - What a lovely hotel and wonderful hosts!
Room (1) lovely large King size, room very clean and well presented! Soft fluffy towels and dressing gowns and complimentary toiletries. Will look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Kind regards Marie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a two night break with our 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 8. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had 2 flat screen tvs which pleased the grandkids no end. Lovely fluffy towels and crisp cotton bedlinen. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a little fridge for your own snacks and drinks if required. The breakfast was excellent, a great choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals and a tasty full english or continental choice all served by the owner of this great little family run hotel . The hotel is in a superb location a short walk from many of Torquays attractions. Would definitely recommend for a chilled out break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmpcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future. Kind regards Marie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just returned from a short 2 night Stay.... Very nice room ( Room 1 ) with a massive Super King Size Bed.. Breakfasts were great and the attention to service was first class. A nice positioned hotel which was a short walk to the Beachfront. Happy to recommend for anyone wanting somewhere nice for a reasonable price !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swadlincoteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Southbank in the future. Kind regards Marie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews