We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2008

On the last day of our holiday we weren't ready to go home. We were having such a nice time that I decided to book my girlfriend and I into the nearest nice looking hotel that had vacancies. We came across the Southbank hotel on the corner of Scarborough and Belgrave Road. The hotel room was quite simply the nicest I have ever stayed in! It was tastefully decorated to a high standard and had a warm cosy feel to it. The bed was comfertable with a nice throw and cushions over it to compliment it.
The tea tray was well stocked with several different types of coffee and tea with ample amounts of sugar and milk.
The bathroom was clean and tidy and the limited amount of space was utilised well. There was even a little basket containing a flannel and complimentary tolietries.
The hallways and stairs are also decorated to a very high standard and give a nice warm friendly, homely feel to the whole hotel.
At breakfast we were greeted by a nice pot of tea and a choice of toast (white or brown). We choose the full English breakfast (without balck pudding!) and it was delicious. There was 1 of each item but each was impeccably cooked. Special mention must go to the sausages - lovely!
All in all it made a very nice ending to a lovely holiday and I cannot recommend it enough. I would definately stay at this hotel when we return to Torquay and have already recommended it to family.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidenv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2006

Stayed here in July for 2 nights. The Hotel is very well situated in the resort with good parking. The owner even suggested we leave him the carkeys so he could move the car to a better spot. The entrance area was warm and inviting with a comfortable guest lounge and cosy bar. Our room was on the top floor, bright and airy with a good view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean, tidy and well lit. We enjoyed the hearty English Breakfast in the recently redecorated dining room on the lower ground floor, probabaly the best I have eaten in a seaside hotel/guesthouse. All in all a very enjoyable experience and the owners could not do enough to ensure we and all the other guests had a memorable stay. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank jammiedoddger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marloes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArminPfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#27 of 85 in Torquay
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 85 in Torquay
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing