We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts. Relaxing and clean. We'd go back anytime”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts. Relaxing and clean. We'd go back anytime”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately made to feel welcome by the hosts Carol and Andy. Our bags were taken upstairs and a pot of tea was ready and waiting for us in the lounge. The hotel is small but perfectly proportioned. Our room was room 8 (a loft room). It was modern in décor and a very good size for such a reasonable price. Plenty of storage and everything we could possible have needed, in more than generous quantities. Breakfast was terrific too, don’t think that because this is a small hotel you won’t have much choice because there is so much to choose from and everything we ordered was a delight. (I have developed a bit of a thing for their pancakes with maple syrup, summer fruits and crème fresh….lush!)

Whilst Elmdene is situated close to a railway line I don’t think I heard a train more than twice and it was very quite so please don’t let that put you off staying. The hotel is located in a very peaceful area away and is a short walk from the quieter end of beach.

Would we visit again?……….Too right we would! Did we want to leave……….nope! Carol and Andy are complete stars.

Room Tip: Go to their website. Pictures there are honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
411
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Absolutely wonderful - a real home from home. The quality of this hotel is beyond most and the food choice was amazing! Sparkling clean rooms and very comfortable beds, Never wanted to leave. Carol and Andy were the best hosts ever! Thanks guys x

Room Tip: Go for a king size room, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashamoo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I'd like to start by saying that we have stayed in a fair few hotels and B&b's in this country and this one is by far, and i mean by far, the best. We went down for the Chesterfield FC v Torquay and to be honest that was the only thing that spoilt the weekend. From arrving at the hotel we were made very welcome, Andy explained where to catch the bus to the ground for the match and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was lovely, probably bigger than our bedroom at home and although my husband is 6ft his feet didn't reach the bottom of the bed. Every thing in the room was beautifully done, modern but very homely and comfortable and there were some nice extra touches you don't always get elsewhere, bottles of water, mini fridge in the room, cleansing wipes as well as the usual toiletries, just small things but these all add up and it was nice to stay somewhere which has obviously had a lot of time and attention spent on it but not have to pay a fortune for the priveledge. This was an absolute gem and i can see why this is number 1 and if any one finds fault with this hotel they must be very picky indeed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

my husband and i stayed three nights here and accommodation, hosts and breakfasts were all excellent. Nice location, we were able to walk to town and seafront. If not able to walk far there is excellent bus service within 100 yards which takes you to any part of town and buses run to Paignton, Brixham and other towns. Also close to railway station.

Room Tip: ask for superior room at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tibshelf, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed at the Elmdene after viewing Trip Advisor last September. Purpose of the visit to Torquay was the Chesterfield FC match, initially I said I wouldn't go but changed my mind and am so pleased I did. This Hotel superceeds your expectations; from the moment we were welcomed through the front door to departure it was an absolute pleasure to stay there. Carol & Andy are excellent hosts, the facilities are all first class, exceptionally clean with fixtures and fittings to a high standard. We went with another couple and whilst the men went to the evening match we tested the catering in the bar - again, excellent quality and superb service, very reasonable prices. Breakfast in the lovely dining room is outstanding, piping hot and pentiful. Its the little things in the Hotel that make it special - face wipes in the bathroom, complimentary fudge on the tea tray, tissues in the bedroom, bottled water, I could go on ... but you need to experience this Hotel is you are staying in the area - truly a gem on the English Rivera!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules3895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of April and will definitely go back in the future. Carol & Andy were great hosts and we can't praise the hotel enough. Breakfast was out of this world and the rooms were spotless and really spacious too! Only a couple of minutes walk from the seafront and close to Cockington village and country house. Plenty of car parking space at the front and lounge area with bar also. Thanks Carol & Andy for a lovely stay and hope to see you again soon.
Ben & Karen. April 2011

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treble99united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

First class accomodation. We had a superior room and there were lovely little extras's in the room. Spotlessly clean and lovely people. Breakfast is excellent aswell as the service you are given. Ideal location and everything is in walking distance. It was my partners 40th birthday when we were there and we came back to find a birthday card and a bottle of wine in our room, a lovely surprise. I Love Torquay and just wish I had found the Elmdene before, I will do my best to go back next year. There was nothing I could fault and give Carol and Andy 10 out of 10. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Relaxing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing