We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elmdene
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
525
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
525
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfudgeperfect hostssewing kitfluffy bathrobesfiltered waterfirst classsea frontdressing gownshigh standardfull englishbiscuitsbus stopwarm welcomeextra toucheson arrivallocal producefresh milk
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2011

If there was a host of the year award which i dont know if there is or not these 2 win it hands down. I've stopped in a few hotels around europe and i've never felt so welcome as i did at this hotel. Andy & carol must be the best hosts ever these people go out there way and will do anything to make your stay as perfect as can be. They have got a very good knowledge of Torquay and the surrounding area and are always on hand to advise and help you in any way they can. The breakfast was fantastic, you didn't want anything else till the evening. The rooms where spotless and we even got little chocolate eggs on the easter sunday (although i dont think this happens every week). Perfectly sittuated away from the crowds of busy Torquay centre but within easy walkin distance 15-20 mins approx. This was my first time in Devon, and i would not hesitate returning. Many thanks to Andy and Carol who helped to make this short break unforgettable.

Room Tip: Book early, limited rooms
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately made to feel welcome by the hosts Carol and Andy. Our bags were taken upstairs and a pot of tea was ready and waiting for us in the lounge. The hotel is small but perfectly proportioned. Our room was room 8 (a loft room). It was modern in décor and a very good size for such a reasonable price. Plenty of storage and everything we could possible have needed, in more than generous quantities. Breakfast was terrific too, don’t think that because this is a small hotel you won’t have much choice because there is so much to choose from and everything we ordered was a delight. (I have developed a bit of a thing for their pancakes with maple syrup, summer fruits and crème fresh….lush!)

Whilst Elmdene is situated close to a railway line I don’t think I heard a train more than twice and it was very quite so please don’t let that put you off staying. The hotel is located in a very peaceful area away and is a short walk from the quieter end of beach.

Would we visit again?……….Too right we would! Did we want to leave……….nope! Carol and Andy are complete stars.

Room Tip: Go to their website. Pictures there are honest.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Absolutely wonderful - a real home from home. The quality of this hotel is beyond most and the food choice was amazing! Sparkling clean rooms and very comfortable beds, Never wanted to leave. Carol and Andy were the best hosts ever! Thanks guys x

Room Tip: Go for a king size room, worth every penny!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashamoo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I'd like to start by saying that we have stayed in a fair few hotels and B&b's in this country and this one is by far, and i mean by far, the best. We went down for the Chesterfield FC v Torquay and to be honest that was the only thing that spoilt the weekend. From arrving at the hotel we were made very welcome, Andy explained where to catch the bus to the ground for the match and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was lovely, probably bigger than our bedroom at home and although my husband is 6ft his feet didn't reach the bottom of the bed. Every thing in the room was beautifully done, modern but very homely and comfortable and there were some nice extra touches you don't always get elsewhere, bottles of water, mini fridge in the room, cleansing wipes as well as the usual toiletries, just small things but these all add up and it was nice to stay somewhere which has obviously had a lot of time and attention spent on it but not have to pay a fortune for the priveledge. This was an absolute gem and i can see why this is number 1 and if any one finds fault with this hotel they must be very picky indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

my husband and i stayed three nights here and accommodation, hosts and breakfasts were all excellent. Nice location, we were able to walk to town and seafront. If not able to walk far there is excellent bus service within 100 yards which takes you to any part of town and buses run to Paignton, Brixham and other towns. Also close to railway station.

Room Tip: ask for superior room at front
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews