We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas shopping trip”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 December 2011

we stayed for 4 nights. The Elmdene was faultless in its clenliness, spacious 5* rooms with all the extras. The breakfasts were top of the range " Belly busters" and the hosts Carol and Andy couldnt do enough to make our stay a truly special one!
The hotel is a short distance from the sea and for those not so active the bus stops right outside. If your thinking of a holiday or short break in Torquay ,staying here will make your visit all the more special.
The Palmers

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Yet another great visit. Carol and Andy really are excellent hosts. Very easy to review as nothing could be better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for a 3 night break after a particuilarly exhausting time. The Elmdene is spotlessly clean, excellently furnished and has all the extras that should be standard everywhere but sadly are not.

Carol and Andy are the perfect hosts, friendly but not in your face. The breakfasts are tasty and ample.

This is the place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzylouWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel lived up to it's No 1 status on trip advisor. Spotlessly clean, great breakfasts in a quiet location with ample free parking. The sea front is a short 10 minute walk where you can stroll along to the harbour for another 10/15 minutes and the main shopping area. If you don't wish to walk, a bus stop opposite the hotel for the No 32 every 20 minutes will take you into town. Fully recommended!

Room Tip: Lower room numbers - less stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have been holidaying in Torquay for many years but never have we stayed in such a brilliant place that is the Elmdene. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern, spacious, comfortable etc etc. Large shower cubicle, fluffy towels, fridge with bottled water and fresh milk every day. Andy and Carol were very friendly and helpful and make it look very easy although to maintain that standard I'm sure it;s not!. Breakfast was superb, all local produce and freshly prepared, good choice of cereals, juice, pastries, cheese, yoghurts and of course the full english! Car park safe. Bus stop to town a few strides away. Overall a very pleasant and relaxed stay. Deserves the super reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is truely outstanding. This hotel is beautiful, our room was spacious and decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast is cooked to order and is superb. Andy and Carol should be extremely proud of their hotel as its the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the property as they overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Elmdene for five days and were celebrating our silver wedding aniversary, Carol and Andy could not do enough for us and made the time in Torquay really memorable. The room was luxurious and with loads of fine little touches like a torch and needle/threads, shoe cleaning kit and of course the bathrobes. The breakfasts were very special and very tasty and set us up for the rest of the day. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable and king size. We would certainly stay at this hotel if we were in the Torquay area again because you cannot find a better place to stay. Many thanks to Carol and Andy for making are stay very speacial indeed they deserve a five star for the service they provide.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GeoffanCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#18 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £102 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing