We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating silver wedding anniversary”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #13 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We decided to spend our special anniversary at The Elmdene as we have stayed before and yet again we had a great room no3 this time. It was as we excpected superb. Andy and Carol are great hosts can not fault,lovely 100% clean and breakfast superb. If you are staying in Torquay this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are furnished to a high standard would recomend any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubbie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

just returned from another stay at the Elmdene ,our 5th visit to date,.Cannot be faulted and all was as good as ever, lovely room,recently upgraded and the usual great breakfasts,carol and andy are really great hosts,very obliging and nothing too much trouble. already booked again for summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaDavid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

we stayed for 4 nights. The Elmdene was faultless in its clenliness, spacious 5* rooms with all the extras. The breakfasts were top of the range " Belly busters" and the hosts Carol and Andy couldnt do enough to make our stay a truly special one!
The hotel is a short distance from the sea and for those not so active the bus stops right outside. If your thinking of a holiday or short break in Torquay ,staying here will make your visit all the more special.
The Palmers

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Yet another great visit. Carol and Andy really are excellent hosts. Very easy to review as nothing could be better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for a 3 night break after a particuilarly exhausting time. The Elmdene is spotlessly clean, excellently furnished and has all the extras that should be standard everywhere but sadly are not.

Carol and Andy are the perfect hosts, friendly but not in your face. The breakfasts are tasty and ample.

This is the place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzylouWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel lived up to it's No 1 status on trip advisor. Spotlessly clean, great breakfasts in a quiet location with ample free parking. The sea front is a short 10 minute walk where you can stroll along to the harbour for another 10/15 minutes and the main shopping area. If you don't wish to walk, a bus stop opposite the hotel for the No 32 every 20 minutes will take you into town. Fully recommended!

Room Tip: Lower room numbers - less stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have been holidaying in Torquay for many years but never have we stayed in such a brilliant place that is the Elmdene. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern, spacious, comfortable etc etc. Large shower cubicle, fluffy towels, fridge with bottled water and fresh milk every day. Andy and Carol were very friendly and helpful and make it look very easy although to maintain that standard I'm sure it;s not!. Breakfast was superb, all local produce and freshly prepared, good choice of cereals, juice, pastries, cheese, yoghurts and of course the full english! Car park safe. Bus stop to town a few strides away. Overall a very pleasant and relaxed stay. Deserves the super reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 150 in Torquay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £97 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing