We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better!!”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #17 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want first class accomodation,,a first class breakfast, and first class hosts, then The Elmdene in Torquay is the place for you,
We have just returned home from a very enjoyable weeks break.. and are already planning a return visit.
Highly and confidently recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robster187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Carol and Andy were the perfect hosts at the Elmdene Hotel. They were very welcoming on arrival and very helpful during our stay,for example they helped us with planning our daily outings, researching the required train times etc. The room we stayed in was large, spotless, had everything we needed plus more. There were lovely added touches e.g fresh milk, shoe polish, sewing kit and even a torch! Breakfast was of a very high standard with fresh local ingredients, including delicious free range scrambled eggs! We will definitely be returning and look forward to seeing Carol and Andy again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room two, which was quiet and had the added bonus of a small adjoining lounge, includin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very warm welcome to a very clean and spotless hotel. Breakfasts were lovely with plenty to chose from.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APRIL w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I returned to the Elmdene at Easter and have to say it was just superb, the whole place is spotless, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable with extra touches on the complimentary trays, an outstanding breakfast in terms of choice, quality, and its all freshly prepared. The seating and bar area is also very relaxing and comfortable, and really you just cant go wrong here- there is also a spacious car park as well. This is all only bettered by the hosts Andy and Carol who are very friendly and affable and are total professionals who cant do enough for you to make your stay as good as it gets. The whole package here is of the highest class and quality in all aspects, I have already booked again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LamcsMr-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We decided to spend our special anniversary at The Elmdene as we have stayed before and yet again we had a great room no3 this time. It was as we excpected superb. Andy and Carol are great hosts can not fault,lovely 100% clean and breakfast superb. If you are staying in Torquay this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are furnished to a high standard would recomend any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubbie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

just returned from another stay at the Elmdene ,our 5th visit to date,.Cannot be faulted and all was as good as ever, lovely room,recently upgraded and the usual great breakfasts,carol and andy are really great hosts,very obliging and nothing too much trouble. already booked again for summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaDavid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

we stayed for 4 nights. The Elmdene was faultless in its clenliness, spacious 5* rooms with all the extras. The breakfasts were top of the range " Belly busters" and the hosts Carol and Andy couldnt do enough to make our stay a truly special one!
The hotel is a short distance from the sea and for those not so active the bus stops right outside. If your thinking of a holiday or short break in Torquay ,staying here will make your visit all the more special.
The Palmers

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#13 of 149 in Torquay
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £98 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing