We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elmdene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Elmdene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Andy and Carol provide a discrete and attentive service in their exemplary establishment.The location is out of the hustle and bustle of the town, but only a 20 minute walk when you want to sample the delightful towns restaurants and pubs. The 5 minute walk to the train station is an added bonus for sightseeing. Andy and Carol were always on hand with useful information on the local area and travelling around.
Bedroom 3 provided us a comfortable stay with all amenities on hand.
What can I say about the breakfast - wow! enough to set you up for a busy day out and about.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
389
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
whitchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Elmdene.The breakfast were very good and the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever had.Large sized bedrooms with everything you would need and more.Quite close to Torquay centre no need to take the car.Andy was very helpful giving us a few ideas on places for an evening meal.We really enjoyed our stay nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for our holiday break at The Elmdene.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Elmdene with my elderly parents for a long weekend break. Andy and Carol I would like to thank you again for making our stay so perfect. My parents are in their 80's and nothing was too much trouble for Andy and Carol . Starting with the wonderful and beautiful location and surroundings, followed by private parking to a lovely welcome with fresh pots of tea and chocolate cookies. The bedrooms were wonderful with luxurious white cotton bedding with the softest white towels and bath robes I have ever felt.
Breakfasts were fantastic and as I have already said nothing was too much trouble for the hosts.
We have only been home 2 hours and we are already looking in our diary to see when we can visit The Elmdene again.
Thanks Andy and Carol, see you soon and thanks for making my elderly parents feel so spoilt and special, see you soon.

Room Tip: All rooms ultra modern, bedding luxury white cotton with soft cushions and heavenly mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Andy and Carol are running a fantastic B&B with thoughtful service, rooms, meals & atmosphere. More luxury comforts than expected, & particularly for the reasonable room rates; soft robes, comfy chairs, fantastic beds, suitcase racks, fridge & edible treats. Breakfasts were great! Parking is on site & property is in a good location. All in all a wonderful stay & we wish Carol & Andy every success! Will recommend & wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Andy and Carol and were informed of the breakfast times. A pot of tea and beautiful chocolate brownies were brought up to our fabulous room. The Hotel is immaculate and furnished to a very high standard. We loved the fluffy towels and all the small things had been thought of. I had forgotten to bring some hair conditioner and Carol provided me with some. We are certainly missing the Elmdene breakfasts - all locally sourced produce and the apple juice was 'to die for'. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we found it to be exceptionally clean and peaceful. Carol and Andy were attentive hosts and provided my own personal benchmark which is a superb breakfast!! Was a pleasure to meet then both and without hesitation would highly recommend their hotel and would certainly stay again when next in Torquay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Although it's difficult to add anything new to what others have written, I must add my admiration of the Elmdene as well as it's proprieters, Carol and Andy. My wife and I were so impressed with not only the spotless, beautifully furnished room, but all the thoughful little amenities, as well. When we had to alter our arrival date, they were gracious and understanding as they accomodated our chnage request. We feel fortunate they had room for us.

Also, the breakfasts are terrific. After the buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, juices, etc., there is a fine selection of hot entrees that are excellent and nicely presented. Don't miss the Elmdene if you have the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing