We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torquay's Finest”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #13 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at The Elmdene we agree with all the other wonderful comments made about this B & B.
This was a wonderful experience to stay at this lovely B&B. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding, the comfortable bed, and very spacious room made it a very pleasant to stay here.
Andy and Carol go out of their way to make everything perfect and the freshly cooked breakfast was a treat.
Ideally situated a stones throw from the beach, yet quiet enough not to get any noise at night, I would gladly revisit the next time we are in Torquay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

this is a small B&B with spacious rooms and great service.
the hosts are very attentive and always happy to help.
for breakfast the hot food was made to order and cooked to perfection!
will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multiculturaltravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I found the Elmdene via Tripadvisor and can only echo all the good things that have been said about this truly excellent establishment. Nothing is too much trouble for Carol & Andy, from early start breakfasts to advice regarding outings & eating, they were top class.
Have already booked for a further stay next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikejw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Elmdene; Carol and Andy are great hosts, breakfast is excellent and the room was spacious and comfortable. The location is nice and quiet and Torquay town centre only 10-15 minutes’ walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Elmdene has wonderful "kerb appeal" and from the moment you pull onto the drive the scene is set - a warm welcome with a pot of tea and brownies after a long journey is perfect. We stayed in 'Superior Room 2' and that is precisely what it was in every way. A large, very well appointed room with everything you could want including towelling robes and slippers. The adjoining lounge is a bonus with a comfy leather sofa, large TV, fridge, tea/coffee, filtered water, biscuits etc. The Hotel is immaculate and this is down to the dedication and hard work of Carol and Andy. The Breakfast room is wonderfully light and airy, the tables well spaced and very inviting. There is everything you could possibly want here - it really is a feast. All hot food is cooked to order using the best local suppliers and Carol sure does cook a mean breakfast. Andy attends to the guests' every need and does so in a very friendly way. They make a good team and that shows in everything about this Hotel. The railway station is a short walk from the Hotel, the bus stops are over the road and it is a flat walk to the seafront and harbour - a big plus point in Torquay. Carol and Andy richly deserve to be the #1 and long may it continue for them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laceway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

From the warmth of the initial welcome, to our departure the Elmdene lived up to everything that has been written about it. Carol & Andy are the perfect hosts and ensured that every need is catered for. The rooms are spotless with everything you could wish for supplied. The breakfasts are excellent with a wide range of choices, and set you up perfectly for the day. Unusually for Torquay there is a level walk into town, a bus stop adjacent and the train station nearby. It would be hard to imagine that anything better is available in Torquay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The best stay ever! Andy & Carol were the perfect hosts.The room was wonderful very well equipped with all the little extras,& the breakfast was lovely. A short stroll into town with lovely views & train station nearby . Thankyou very much

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BinghamsPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 150 in Torquay
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £96 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing